Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bridwell Library Archival Collections: C

Allen S. Cameron Papers

Ministerial records of Oklahoma Conference Methodist Episcopal Church, South Presiding Elder Allen S. Cameron. Four printed volumes with hand-written notes from 1917-1918 and 1922-1925. Extent: 1 box (.5 linear foot) [Box 1785A]. Collection MSA 101.

Jo Carr Papers

Bettye Jo Crisler Carr (1926-2007) was a United Methodist preacher, a teacher, an author, a missionary, a mother of five, and a leader of the Girl Scouts of America. These papers represent her work as a freelance writer. The majority of the collection contains articles, prayers, devotionals, religious education lesson plans, and books that Carr wrote. Correspondence, book reviews, news articles, children’s magazines, galleys, and publishing contracts are also included. Extent: 2 boxes (1.5 linear feet) [Boxes 1780-1781]. Acquired, January 5, 1982. Collection MSA 61.

Collection on the Central Jurisdiction of the Methodist Church

Comprises three boxes of printed materials, photographs, correspondence, and research files produced by the Methodist Church, the Central Jurisdiction, and constituent annual conferences, churches, and agencies. The Central Jurisdiction, a race-based administrative judicatory, was created in the Methodist Church merger of 1939 in order to segregate African American Methodists within the predominantly white denomination. The segregation of the Methodist Church ended in 1968-1972 with the creation of the United Methodist Church and the elimination of the Central Jurisdiction. Extent: 3 boxes (1.5 linear feet) [Boxes 1575 A-C]. Collection MSA 55. 

Clark and Hutcherson Family Papers

Documents and artifacts regarding Donna Dean Clark Hutcherson and her parents, Dr. Lamar S. Clark (1911-1996) and Dr. Lenora Fay Newbern Clark (1915-2001). Extent: 1 box (.5 linear foot) [Box 1698B]. Gift of Donna Dean Clark Hutcherson, 2011 and 2014. Collection MSA 84.

H. B. Clark Ministerial Papers

Documents the pastoral career of the Rev. H. B. Clark (1874-1956), a Methodist clergyman who served the Central Texas Conference from 1904 to 1946. The collection contains thirty-nine notebooks dating from 1905 to 1946, where Clark recorded details about the charges he served and the ministries he rendered. Extent: 2 boxes (1 linear foot) [Box 1510A-B]. Acquired. Collection MSA 62.

Miriam Welty Cochran and George C. Cochran, Jr. Papers

Miriam Welty Cochran (1898–1966) was a professional pianist and organist who performed as a soloist, accompanist, and in musical ensembles. Additionally, she served as a choir director and music teacher. Her husband, George C. Cochran, Jr. (1897-1961) was a Dallas attorney and patron of the arts. Through personal and business records, photographs, and genealogy research files this collection documents the lives of two notable Dallasites. The Miriam Welty Cochran and George C. Cochran, Jr. papers were originally part of the Calloway and Jerry Bywaters Cochran family archives at The Jake and Nancy Hamon Arts Library at Southern Methodist University. Extent: 6 boxes (4 linear feet) [Boxes 1019A-1021A]. Transferred from Hamon Arts Library, 2013. Collection MSA 121.

Thomas Coke Letters

Comprises letters written by Thomas Coke (1747-1814) between 1781 and 1813. Coke was a British preacher, author, and missionary who joined the Methodist movement in 1777 and became a close associate of John Wesley. Representing Wesley, Coke crossed the Atlantic Ocean nine times between 1784 and 1803 to oversee Methodist work in North America. Extent: 1 box (.5 linear foot) [Room 228A manuscript shelves]. Acquired. Collection BridColl 12. Note: Contact Arvid Nelsen for assistance accessing this collection. 

A. M. Broadley Album on Brian Bury Collins

The correspondence of John, Charles and Sarah Wesley, Dr. Witherspoon (Signatory to the American Declaration of Independence), Selina Countess of Huntingdon, Ladies Glenorchy and D. Maxwell, the Rev. Rowland Hill, Bishop Beilby Porteous, the Rev. D. Simpson and many other Divines with the Rev. Brian Bury Collins, M.A., afterwards Bury, of St. John’s College, Cambridge; Bath, and Linwood Grange, Lincoln. 1772-1779. Collected, arranged, and annotated by A. M. Broadley. The Knapp, Bradpole, Bridport, 1913. Extent: 3 boxes (2 linear feet) [Room 228A manuscript shelves]. Date range: 1757-1913. Acquired. Collection BridColl 10. Note: Contact Arvid Nelsen for assistance accessing this collection.

Carr P. Collins, Jr. Papers

Consists of print and audio materials reflecting Carr P. Collins, Jr.’s interest in occultism (magic, witchcraft, druidism), psychical research, and charismatic Christianity. Many of the publications within are photocopies. Collins (1918-1985) assisted some of the authors with their research and publications. Extent: 6 boxes (6 linear feet) [Boxes 1774-1779]. Collection BLA 12.

Thomas Jefferson Connor Papers

Consists of two items: the Preacher’s Circuit Book belonging to the Rev. T. J. Connor of the Indianapolis Circuit, White River Conference, Church of the United Brethren in Christ, and a sheet of notes for the funeral of Francis M. Jordan. Both items date from the 1870s. The Preacher’s Circuit Book features a lengthy discourse explaining why Rev. Connor felt impelled to leave the United Brethren in 1876. Extent: 2 folders (.2 linear foot) [Box 1724B]. Gift of Fred S. Grutze, 1979. Collection MSA 90.

Collection on the Cooke and Clarke Families

The documents in this collection relate to prominent early Methodist preacher and scholar Adam Clarke (1762?-1832); his wife Mary Cooke Clarke (1761-1837); their son, J. B. B. Clarke; their daughter, Mary Ann Clarke Smith; and Mary Cooke Clarke’s sister, Eliza Cooke. The collection features correspondence and other documents concerning family and church matters and includes copies of letters sent by Mary Cooke to John Wesley. Extent: 3 boxes (1.25 linear foot) [Room 228A manuscript shelves]. Purchased, 1999. Collection BridColl 07. Note: Contact Arvid Nelsen for assistance accessing this collection. 

Robert O. Cooper Papers

Consist of materials documenting his career in campus ministry and higher education. Rev. Bob Cooper served Southern Methodist University as Associate Chaplain from 1966 until his retirement in 1992. Extent: 12 boxes (5.5 linear feet) [Boxes 736A-740B and 1875A]. Gift of Rev. Robert O. Cooper, 2009, 2014, 2015, and 2017. Collection MSA 82.

Kenneth W. Copeland Papers

Sermon manuscripts, outlines, and notes, 1937-1968. Kenneth W. Copeland (1912-1973) was elected bishop in 1960. Extent: 10 boxes (9.5 linear feet) [Boxes 345B-354]. Collection MSA 3.

Arthur B. Corey Papers

This collection comprises correspondence, photographs, publications, unpublished writings, and research files compiled by Arthur B. Corey (1900-1977). Corey was a professional dancer and choreographer who became a metaphysics scholar, a Christian Science Reader, and a critic of the Church of Christ, Scientist. Date range: 1862-1984. Extent: 51 boxes (23.5 linear feet) [Boxes 652A-672B and 2012 A-B]. Gift of Arthur B. Corey. Collection BLA 13.

Joseph Coughran Sermons

One notebook of manuscript sermons written by Rev. Joseph Coughran (1849-1891). Rev. Coughran was a member of the West Texas Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, from 1879 to 1887. Extent: 1 folder (.1 linear foot) [Box 1940A].  Gift of Hilton Painter. Collection MSA 127.

Collection on the Council of Bishops

Agendas, minutes, and supplementary documents produced by or for the Council of Bishops of the United Methodist Church and predecessor bodies. Extent: 39 boxes (20 linear feet) [Box 1189 and boxes in room 6A]. Collection MSA 34.

Collection on the Council of Southwestern Theological Schools

Minutes and other administrative documents of the Council of Southwestern Theological Schools, 1965-1992. Extent: 2 boxes (1.5 linear feet) [Boxes 862-863].  Collection STA 59.

Roberta Cox Papers

Thirty Bridwell Library and Perkins School of Theology publications produced by or associated with Roberta Cox between 1986 and 2012, and a Neiman Marcus silk scarf imprinted with a mandala designed by Joseph D. Quillian, Jr., circa 1970. Extent: 1 box (.5 linear foot) [Box 2072B] Gift of Roberta Cox, 2018 (Accession 2018.15). Collection STA 73.

Collection on Earl Cranston

Materials by and about Bishop Earl Cranston (1840-1932) collected by Bishop Frederick DeLand Leete (1866-1958).  Extent: 2 boxes (2 linear feet) [Boxes 590 and 595].  Gift of Frederick DeLand Leete, 1956. Collection MSA 11.

J. W. Cullum Papers

A minister in the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, Rev. J. W. Cullum (1828-1915) served ministerial appointments in the Tennessee Conference beginning in 1851. During the Civil War, he served as chaplain to the Twenty-fourth Tennessee Regiment. This collection comprises a carte-de-visite, a Missionary Society Life membership certificate, and biographical data about Rev. Cullum.  Extent: 1 folder [Box 2162B].  Gift of Jane L. Meek. Collection MSA 130.

Merrimon Cuninggim Papers

Merrimon Cuninggim (1911–1995) was a Methodist minister and educator who served as Dean of Perkins School of Theology, Southern Methodist University, from 1951 until 1960. Extent: 19 boxes (17 linear feet) [Boxes 14-31]. Acquired. Collection STA 6.

Using this Guide

  • Browse for materials in the A-Z tabs by collection title or last name.
  • Alternatively, use the search box in the upper right corner to search by name or keyword.

Need More Help?

Profile Photo
Jane Elder

Need More Help?

Profile Photo
Arvid Nelsen
Contact:
Bridwell Library, 230A
214-768-3440