Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bridwell Library Archival Collections: P

J. S. Parker Notebook

Consists of a notebook containing ministerial records, biographical data, and medical notes penned by J. S. Parker between 1888 and 1890. Rev. Parker served the Kingman Circuit, Hutchinson District, in Kansas first as Supply Preacher, then as the P. C. (Preacher in Charge). Extent: 1 folder (.05 linear foot) [Box 1730A]. Acquired. Collection MSA 108.

Collection of Pastors’ School Records

Documents and publications from the Pastors’ School (previously called the Preachers’ Summer Assembly) held annually at Southern Methodist University. Records date from 1917 to 1950 and were gathered by Bridwell Library staff members. Extent: 1 box (.25 linear foot) [Box 1922B]. Collection STA 63.

Collection on the Perkins and Prothro Families

Documents the lives of philanthropists Joe J. and Lois Perkins, their daughter Elizabeth Perkins Prothro, and her husband Charles N. Prothro.  The families were benefactors of Southern Methodist University (SMU) and especially its School of Theology, which was renamed in honor of Mr. and Mrs. Perkins in 1945. Contains correspondence, reports, printed material, photographs, and news articles detailing the two families’ interactions with SMU, Southwestern University, and Sweet Briar College. Extent: 8 boxes (5.5 linear feet) [Boxes 961-965]. Acquired, 1997-2009. Collection MSA 73.

Perkins Chapel Worship Service Recordings

Videotapes and DVDs of Perkins School of Theology chapel services, 2002-2011. Extent: 13 boxes (10 linear feet) [Boxes 1023C-1025B, 1681-1687, and 1712D]. Collection STA 58.

Perkins School of Theology Administration and Educational Programs

Documents the history, administration, academic programs, and personnel of academic programs of Perkins School of Theology. Collection BridArch 1.005. Series 2: Administration and educational programs.

Perkins School of Theology Audio Recordings

Comprise 24.5 linear feet of audio reels, audio cassettes, and compact disks of campus lectures and special events recorded between 1955 and 2004. Extent: 47 boxes (25 linear feet) [Boxes 1285B-1307 and 1688 A-B]. Collection STA 56.

Collection on Perkins School of Theology Facilities

Collection STA 55. Includes information on master plans and blueprints, as well as multiple buildings.

Perkins School of Theology Faculty and Staff Reference Files

Documents the history, administration, academic programs, and personnel of academic programs of Perkins School of Theology. Collection BridArch 1.005. Series 3: Faculty and staff reference files. Writings, correspondence, and other materials collected by Bridwell Library staff to document the careers of faculty and staff members. Extent: 17 boxes (9 linear feet) [Boxes 1513A-1521A].

Perkins School of Theology Faculty Meeting Minutes

Minutes and associated papers dating from 1915 to 1998. Extent: 3 boxes (1.5 linear feet) [Boxes 932A – 933A]. Collection STA 1.

Perkins School of Theology Institutional History

Documents the history, administration, academic programs, and personnel of academic programs of Perkins School of Theology. Collection BridArch 1.005. Series 1: Institutional history. Documents, photographs, publications, and research files gathered or generated by Bridwell Library staff members. Extent: 4 boxes (2 linear feet) [Boxes 876A, 877B, 1736 A, and 1736 B]. News clippings scrapbooks. Two scrapbooks: 1934-1944 and 1951-1952. Extent: 1 box (1.5 linear feet) [Box 2147].

Perkins School of Theology Intern Program Records

Historical and administrative records of the Perkins School of Theology Intern Program (previously known as Supervised Ministry and Field Education). Extent: 10 boxes (9 linear feet) [Boxes 1525-1530A]. Collection STA 46.

Perkins School of Theology Office of Admission and Community Life Records

Records generated by the Perkins School of Theology Office of Admission and Community Life. Extent: 11 boxes (8.5 linear feet) [Boxes 932L-937L, 1703, 1707A-B, 1709C, and 1934B]. Collection STA 66.

Perkins School of Theology Office of Public Affairs Records

Includes campus photographs, faculty photos, class photos, published annual reports, faculty publications lists, general publicity pieces, and Perkins website data. (“Perkins Relations”) (“Public Relations”). Extent: 23 boxes (17 linear feet) [Boxes 859-861, 878, 1695-1698, 1706B, 1735, 1828-1831, 2003A, and 2070-2072A]. Collection STA 4.

Perkins School of Theology Office of the Dean Records

Includes papers generated by or associated with the deans of the SMU School of Theology (1915-1945) and Perkins School of Theology (1945-present). Use the link below to access information on individual collections.

Collection of Perkins School of Theology Publications

Comprises copies of academic catalogs, directories, commencement programs and more produced by Perkins School of Theology (PST) or by Southern Methodist University on behalf of Perkins School of Theology.

Perkins School of Theology Senate Records

Minutes of Perkins Senate meetings with associated committee reports, 1969-1980. Extent: 1 box (4 linear foot) [Boxes 904, 930, 931, 938]. Collection STA 2. 

Collection on Perkins School of Theology Student Organizations and Activities

Materials collected by Bridwell Library staff to document student organizations and activities. Collection STA 52.

Collection of Perkins School of Theology Student Publications

Comprises copies of three periodicals issued by the Perkins School of Theology student body: The Log (1952-1985), Babylonian Schismatic (1981-1988), and Perkins Student Journal (2000-present). Extent: 4 boxes (2.5 linear feet) [Boxes 974A-975 and 1698A]. Collection STA 54.

Perkins School of Theology Video Recordings

Comprise five linear feet of 8 mm films and videocassettes containing footage of campus lectures and special events. The collection also contains a few program-related videotapes not recorded by Perkins School of Theology. Extent: 8 boxes (4.5 linear feet) [Boxes 1308-1314B]. Collection STA 57.

Perkins School of Theology Worship Committee / Chapel Office Records

Chapel service planning records and service bulletins, 1958-2013.  Extent: 8 boxes (4.5 linear feet) [Boxes 1022A-1023B and 1711-1712C]. Collection STA 3.

Perkins Student Association Records

Administrative records and publications, including The Perkins Log. Extent: 6 boxes (3 linear feet) [Boxes 0872-0875 and 1710A-B]. Collection STA 50.

Perkins Student Council Records

Extent: 4 boxes (2 linear feet) [Boxes 0872-0875]. Collection STA 51.

Lloyd Pfautsch Papers

Lloyd A. Pfautsch (1921-2003) was a composer, conductor, and professor of voice and choral conducting who taught at Illinois Wesleyan University, The University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign, Indiana University Bloomington, Union Theological Seminary, Northwestern University, and Southern Methodist University (SMU). This collection comprises Pfautsch’s draft and published compositions, writings, teaching files, correspondence, materials on the Dallas Civic Chorus and Mu Phi Epsilon fraternity, audio-visual resources, and personal papers. Extent: 36 boxes (17.5 linear feet) [Boxes 1821 B-D, 1834A – 1844B, 2175A-2179 C]. Collection STA 69. Finding Aid forthcoming.

John Foster Pierce Papers

Consists of 1.6 linear feet of sermons, personal papers, and family records. Features 257 sermons written by Rev. J. F. Pierce (1863-1923), a Methodist minister and District Superintendent who served charges in northern Texas from 1890 to 1923. Extent: 4 boxes (1.6 linear feet) [Boxes 1725A-1726A]. Gift of Elizabeth Rayner Weaver Pierce, 1988. Collection MSA 91.

Collection of Pierre-Michel Letters

Pierre-Michel (1807-1875), also known as and by his spiritual name Elie-Strathaniel, founded l’Oeuvre de la Misericorde (“Work of Mercy”), a Catholic sect, in 1839. Vintras was imprisoned in 1842 for fraud and denounced by the Vatican in 1848. The collection of Pierre-Michel Vintras letters contain 256 letters written to Vintras by followers and sympathizers. Extent: 2 boxes (1 linear foot) [Boxes 1918A-B]. Acquired, 1962. Collection BLA 27.

Collection on Alyene Porter

Documents the life and literary works of a twentieth century author who drew on her life experiences as the daughter of a Methodist minister in Texas to produce two popular novels. This collection consists of Alyene Porter’s original hand-written manuscript of Papa Was a Preacher; inscribed copies of her books Papa Was a Preacher and Consider Miss Lily; and copies of newspaper articles concerning the Porter family. Extent: 1 box (.5 linear foot) [Box 1785A]. Collection MSA 99.

Marjorie Procter-Smith Papers

Administrative papers of Professor and Associate Dean Marjorie Procter-Smith. Extent: 9 boxes (4.5 linear feet) [Boxes 979A-983].  Gift of Marjorie Procter-Smith, 2011. Collection STA 42.

Using this Guide

  • Browse for materials in the A-Z tabs by collection title or last name.
  • Alternatively, use the search box in the upper right corner to search by name or keyword.

Need More Help?

Profile Photo
Jane Elder

Need More Help?

Profile Photo
Arvid Nelsen
Contact:
Bridwell Library, 230A
214-768-3440