Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bridwell Library Archival Collections: H

Ruben L. F. Habito Papers

Administrative papers of professor and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Ruben L. F. Habito. Dr. Habito began service Perkins School of Theology in 1989 as visiting associate professor of history of religions. Extent: 6 boxes (6 linear feet) [Boxes 949-954]. Gift of Ruben L. F. Habito, 2007. Collection STA 41.

William Talbot Handy, Jr., Papers

This collection documents the career of Bishop William Talbot Handy, Jr. (1924-1998). A graduate of Dillard University, Gammon Theological Seminary, and Boston University School of Theology, Handy served as a Methodist pastor and district superintendent in Louisiana. He also held administrative positions at the United Methodist Publishing House in Nashville, Tennessee. From 1980 until his retirement in 1992 Handy served as the bishop of the Missouri Episcopal Area of the United Methodist Church. The William Talbot Handy, Jr. papers detail Handy’s work as an African American pastor, denominational leader, civil rights activist, and race relations counselor. Extent: 8 boxes (5 linear feet) [Boxes 1818A-1822B]. Collection MSA 6.

H. Grady Hardin Papers

Sermons and other materials dating 1913-1987. H. Grady Hardin served as professor of homiletics at Perkins School of Theology from 1957 until his retirement in 1981. Extent: 8 boxes (8 linear feet) [Boxes 153L and 472-478]. Collection STA 35.

John Wesley Hardt Papers

This collection consists of official documents of the UMC, teaching papers, sermons and addresses dating from 1939 to 2010. Bishop Hardt’s ministry was in Oklahoma and Texas. Upon retirement from the episcopacy in 1999, he served as Bishop-in-Residence at Perkins School of Theology. Extent: 27 boxes (22.5 linear feet) [Boxes 294-314A and 2142]. Gift of John Wesley Hardt and William C. Hardt. Collection MSA 7.

Kay Schoedinger Collection on the Harwood Family

Dr. Thomas Harwood served in the Civil War as chaplain of the 25th Regiment of Wisconsin Volunteers. After the Civil War, Thomas and Emily Harwood were sent to New Mexico as Methodist missionaries. The collection includes Dr. Harwood’s diary from the war, photographs from the Harwoods’ mission schools, copies of government documents, the biography of Mrs. Emily J. Harwood, and related correspondence of Mrs. Schoedinger. Extent: 1 box (.25 linear foot) [Box 1730B]. Gift of Kay Schoedinger, 1973. Collection MSA 96.

Collection on Thomas Haweis

The Bridwell Library collection on Thomas Haweis contain correspondence generated by and received by the Rev. Thomas Haweis (1732-1820) along with related documents collected by his son, John Oliver Willyams Haweis (1805-1891). Thomas Haweis, a minister in the Church of England, was a leading figure in the 18th century Evangelical revival in England and one of the founders of the Missionary Society. He served as Chaplain to the Countess of Huntingdon and, after her death, was appointed Principal Trustee of the Countess of Huntingdon’s Connexion. Extent: 4 boxes (2.5 linear feet) [Room 228A manuscript shelves]. Acquired. Collection BridColl04. Note: Contact Arvid Nelsen for assistance accessing this collection.

Eugene B. Hawk Papers

Eugene B. Hawk (1881-1963) was an educator, minister, administrator, and mentor to young preachers. He served as the Dean of the School of Theology at Southern Methodist University (SMU), 1933-1951; the Vice-President of SMU, 1933-1938; Acting President of SMU, 1938-1939; and Executive Vice-President of SMU, 1939-1952. The bulk of the collection is correspondence, but financial documents, transcripts, loan applications, student grades, and minutes are also included. The materials were created and collected by Hawk during his years of service to SMU. Extent: 8 boxes (9 linear feet) [Boxes 7-12 and 947-948]. Collection STA 7.

Collection on Richard P. Heitzenrater

Richard Heitzenrater served Perkins School of Theology from 1977 to 1993 as associate professor of church history and Methodist studies. In 1992-1993 he also served as interim director of Bridwell Library. Extent: 1 boxes (.5 linear foot) [Boxes 1923A]. Collection BLA 2.

John P. Hensley Papers

The John P. Hensley papers consist of thirteen bound scrapbooks from Rev. J. P. Hensley’s pastoral career in the North Texas Annual Conference. The scrapbooks include worship bulletins, church correspondence, photographs, newspaper clippings, and other documents dating from 1946 to 1959. Extent: 2 boxes (1 linear foot) [Boxes 1511A-B]. Gift of John P. Hensley, 1975. Collection MSA& 104.

John Harden Hicks Papers

The John Harden Hicks papers consist of two linear feet of research, teaching, and administrative papers. These items document the career of Dr. John H. Hicks, who taught archaeology and Old Testament courses at Perkins School of Theology, Southern Methodist University (1922-1957), and religion classes at McMurry College, Abilene, Texas (1957-1963). Extent: 3 boxes (2 linear feet) [Boxes 500-501B]. Acquired. Collection STA 23.

Craig C. Hill Papers

Office records of Dean Craig C. Hill. Dates: 2017 – present. Extent: 3 boxes (1.25 linear feet) [Boxes 1788 A-C] Transfer, 2018 (Accession 2018.13). Collection STA 72.

William Richey Hogg Papers

W. Richey Hogg served Perkins School of Theology as assistant professor of missions from 1955 until his retirement in 1987. Extent: 70 boxes (70 linear feet) [Boxes 1387-1456]. Collection STA 24.

John Holbert Papers

Publications by John Holbert. Dr. Holbert joined the faculty of Perkins School of Theology in 1979 as visiting professor of Old Testament. He retired in 2012. Extent: 1 box (1 linear foot) [Box 1816]. Collection STA 44.

William H. Hughes Papers

This collection comprises Deacon’s Orders, sermons, a notebook, a letter, legal and financial documents, and the conference journal obituary of the Rev. William H. Hughes (1828-1916). Rev. Hughes was ordained a Deacon (1848) and Elder (1850) in the Tennessee Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. He moved to Dallas County, Texas in 1852, returned to the itinerant ministry in 1859, and served appointments in Texas and Tennessee until his retirement. Extent: 9 folders (.15 linear foot) [Box 1919A]. Gift of Louise Hughes Bocquin, 1992. Collection MSA 133.

Joseph Walker Elston Collection on David Hume

Material relating to the study of David Hume collected by Joseph Walker Elston, III (1919 - 1968). Extent: 1 box (.5 linear foot) [Box 620B]. Collection BLA 15.

Collection on Selina Hastings, Countess of Huntingdon

The Bridwell Library collection on Selina Hastings, Countess of Huntingdon (1707-1791) includes sixty-eight pieces of correspondence written by or to the Countess between 1757 and 1791. A noteworthy philanthropist and religious leader in eighteenth-century England, Lady Huntingdon headed the Calvinist Methodist “Countess of Huntingdon’s Connexion.” Extent: 3 boxes (1.5 linear feet) [Room 228A manuscript shelves]. Acquired. Collection BridColl 05. Note: Contact Arvid Nelsen for assistance accessing this collection. 

Collection on John Fletcher Hurst

Materials by and about Bishop John Fletcher Hurst (1834-1903) collected by Bishop Frederick DeLand Leete (1866-1958). Extent: 2 boxes (1 linear foot) [Boxes 591 and 597]. Gift of Frederick DeLand Leete, 1956. Collection MSA 8.

Clark and Hutcherson Family Papers

Documents and artifacts regarding Donna Dean Clark Hutcherson and her parents, Dr. Lamar S. Clark (1911-1996) and Dr. Lenora Fay Newbern Clark (1915-2001). Extent: 1 box (.5 linear foot) [Box 1698B]. Gift of Donna Dean Clark Hutcherson, 2011 and 2014. Collection MSA 84.

Using this Guide

  • Browse for materials in the A-Z tabs by collection title or last name.
  • Alternatively, use the search box in the upper right corner to search by name or keyword.

Need More Help?

Profile Photo
Jane Elder

Need More Help?

Profile Photo
Arvid Nelsen
Contact:
Bridwell Library, 230A
214-768-3440