Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bridwell Library Archival Collections: D-E

Marjorie Dakin Correspondence

The Marjorie Dakin correspondence collection consists of letters written to Marjorie Dakin by Arthur Corey, Eva Grinnell, Carobeth Laird, and Harold Lund. The letters date from 1959 to 1973. [Christian Science]. Extent: 1 box (.5 linear foot) [Box 683B]. Gift of Marjorie Dakin, 1996. Collection BLA 14.

Dallas Area Methodist Ministers' Wives' Club Scrapbooks

The Methodist Ministers’ Wives’ Club of Dallas, Texas was founded in 1934. The organization was formed to strengthen the bond between ministers’ wives in a social and spiritual way. The Dallas Area Methodist Ministers’ Wives’ Club scrapbooks include three scrapbooks assembled by the organization to chronicle their activities and contributions in the Dallas area. The scrapbooks contain newspaper articles, minutes, photographs, yearbooks, and programs. Extent: 2 boxes (3 linear feet) [Boxes 211A-211B]. Gift of Enola Hunter Carlyon (Mrs. J. T. Carlyon), 1966. Collection MSA 49.

Dallas Inner City Parish Newsletters

This collection comprises copies of eleven 1966-1969 issues of The Good News, newsletter of the Dallas Inner City Parish: Bethlehem Center, El Buen Pastor Iglesia Methodista, Friendship Hall, St. Luke Methodist Church, and Warren Methodist Church. (Formerly Special Collections Accession 33864). Extent: 2 folders (.1 linear foot) [Box 1730B]. Collection MSA 51.

Jesse L. Daniel Papers

The Jesse L. Daniel papers consist of eight credentialing documents dating from 1838 to 1860. Rev. Daniel served Methodist Episcopal Church and Methodist Episcopal Church, South charges in Alabama, Mississippi, and Texas. Extent: 8 folders (.1 linear foot) [Box 1730A]. Gift of James F. Daniel and Dorothy Cross Daniel, August 1993. Collection MSA 107.

Wesley C. Davis Papers

Correspondence, photographs, and news clippings. Dr. Davis served as Associate Professor of New Testament from 1935 to 1959. Extent: 1 box (.5 linear foot) [Box 1827C]. Collection STA 45.

John Deschner Papers

Theology professor John W. Deschner served on the faculty of Perkins School of Theology from 1956 to 1991. Extent: 64 boxes (64 linear feet) [Boxes 1315, 1324-1386]. Collection STA 17.

Roger Deschner Papers

Roger N. Deschner served Perkins School of Theology from 1975 to 1991as director of the Master of Sacred Music program and as professor of church music. Extent: 25 boxes (24.5 linear feet) [Boxes 690B, 1238-1260, 1284]. Collection STA 18.

Anne P. Dickson Papers / Pressworks Records

Materials documenting the work of Dallas printer and publishing firm co-owner Anne P. Dickson. Extent: 13 boxes (13 linear feet) [Boxes 1860-1872]. Collection BLA 32.

Ernest T. Dixon, Jr. Papers

The papers of Ernest T. Dixon, Jr. document the life of the first African American bishop to serve the South Central Jurisdiction of the United Methodist Church. A native of San Antonio, Texas, Dixon (1922-1996) had a long and distinguished career as a clergyman, educator, college president, denominational administrator, and ecumenical leader. Throughout his nearly fifty years of active ministry, Dixon emphasized education and evangelism, advocated for the economic conditions and civil rights of minority groups, and worked to improve race relations both within and beyond the church. Extent: 20 boxes (10 linear feet) [Boxes 785-792, 2021]. Date range: 1900-1996. Collection MSA 4.

Hoyt M. Dobbs Correspondence

Hoyt McWhorter Dobbs (1878-1954) was a pastor, educator, and bishop in the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. From 1916 to 1920 he served as Dean of the School of Theology of Southern Methodist University. This collection consists of two folders of Dobbs’s business correspondence dating from his years at SMU. Date Range: 1917-1918. Extent: 1 box (.5 linear foot) [Box 12B]. Transferred from SMU Archives, 2011. Collection STA 14.

Forest E. Dudley Papers

This collection comprises the ministerial papers of Rev. Forest E. Dudley (1894-1986). Dudley was a 1917 graduate of SMU who served in the medical corps in World War I. After his return from Europe, Dudley entered the SMU School of Theology, graduating in 1923. His ministry included pastoral appointments in the Oklahoma, Texas, Little Rock, and North Texas conferences. Following retirement in 1960, Dudley served as Associate Pastor of First Methodist Church, Dallas, until the time of his death. Extent: 3 boxes (3 linear feet) [Boxes 426L, 427L and 810L]. Acquired. Collection MSA 66.

William G. Duke Ministerial Papers

Rev. William G. Duke (1806-1883) was a minister in the Missouri (1831-1835) and Arkansas Conferences (1836) of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Duke left the itineracy in 1836, but continued to serve as a local preacher and in other church leadership roles in Texas. This collection documenting Duke’s ministry comprises sermon notes, notes taken at the Missouri Conference of 1833 (held at Washington County, Arkansas Territory), minutes of the May 1844 quarterly conference of the Sulphur Fork, Texas, circuit, and a folder of genealogy and collection provenance documents. Extent: 5 folders. Date range: 1833-1844, 1933, 1960-1966. Gift of the estate of W. W. Murphy, Jr, 1966. [Box 570C]. Collection MSA 161.

Mary Hay Ferguson Eller Papers

Mary Hay Ferguson Eller (1884-1964) was a Methodist laywoman from McKinney, Texas who served in positions of leadership within the North Texas Conference Epworth League and was founder of the Ruby Kendrick Council of Missions. This collection consists of pamphlets, programs, correspondence, minutes, photographs, newspaper and magazine articles, record books, and a scrapbook created or collected by Mary Hay Ferguson Eller and reflecting her experiences in the Woman’s Foreign Missionary Society, the Woman’s Missionary Society, the Epworth League, and the Ruby Kendrick Council of Missions. Ruby R. Kendrick (1883-1908) was a young Methodist missionary who served in Korea. Extent: 3 boxes (3 linear feet) [Boxes 1556-1557 and 2010]. Collection MSA 114.

L. B. Elrod Texas Conference Investigating Committee Papers

This collection comprises four folders of correspondence, meeting transcriptions, reports, and a press release. These documents were created by or received by Rev. L. B. Elrod and the Texas Conference (Methodist Episcopal Church, South) committee charged with investigating allegations of heretical teachings at Texas Woman’s College, Southern Methodist University, and Southwestern University. All items were created in 1923. Extent: 1 box (.5 linear foot) [Box 1859B]. Gift, Texas Conference Archives, 2017. Collection MSA 151.

Joseph Walker Elston Collection on David Hume

Material relating to the study of David Hume collected by Joseph Walker Elston, III (1919 - 1968).Extent: 1 box (.5 linear foot) [Box 620B]. Collection BLA 15.

Epworth-By-the-Sea Financial Ledger, 1908-1912

A book of financial records produced by the Epworth League of Texas, owners and operators of Epworth By the Sea, Corpus Christi, Texas. Date range: 1908-1912. Extent: 1 box (1 linear foot) [Box 2124B]. Collection MSA 59.

Epworth League Sixth International Convention Notebook

This collection comprises a single bound volume containing seventy-four pages of typed notes from the Sixth International Convention of the Epworth League, a major pan-Methodist event held in Detroit, Michigan July 16-20, 1903. The unidentified recorder, possibly from New England, included transcriptions or summaries of addresses attended, narratives about speakers and convention-related events, and personal statements such as, “At this point I gave up taking notes, as I was tired and wanted to look at the speaker” (page 29). Extent: 1 folder [Box 579B]. Acquired. Collection MSA 149.

Collection on the Evangelical United Brethren Church

This collection consists of documents published by and about the Evangelical United Brethren Church (1946 – 1968) and predecessor bodies the Church of the United Brethren in Christ (1800-1946), the Evangelical Association (1803-1922), and the Evangelical Church (1922-1946). Extent: 4 boxes (2 linear feet) [Box 1826A-1827B]. Acquired. Collection MSA 39.

Using this Guide

  • Browse for materials in the A-Z tabs by collection title or last name.
  • Alternatively, use the search box in the upper right corner to search by name or keyword.

Need More Help?

Profile Photo
Jane Elder

Need More Help?

Profile Photo
Arvid Nelsen
Contact:
Bridwell Library, 230A
214-768-3440