Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bridwell Library Archival Collections: K-L

Paul B. Kern Papers

The Paul B. Kern papers consist of eleven boxes of materials documenting the work of Paul Bentley Kern during and after his term as the third Dean of the Southern Methodist University School of Theology (today’s Perkins School of Theology) 1920-1926. The collection includes business records, correspondence, and publications dating from 1920 to 1949, photographs taken between 1915 and 1940, and a set of photo portraits of Methodist bishops created by Elmer T. Clark in 1924. Extent: 11 boxes (5.5 linear feet) [Boxes 1A-4B, 1708A- 1709A]. Collection STA 8.

Collection on the Kilgore Family

This collection features business and personal records of Samuel Grafton Kilgore (1858-1924) and Cassie R. Chase Kilgore (1858-1934), Methodist missionaries to Mexico. The Kilgore family papers include a letter from missionary Mary C. Kelso to Abbie Chase (sister of Cassie Chase Kilgore), photographs of relatives, and materials pertaining to Catherine Kilgore Johnston, her husband John McMillan Johnston, and their daughter, Jane Johnston. The collection also includes temperance literature and Woman’s Christian Temperance Union ephemera. Extent: 2 boxes (1 linear foot) [Boxes 6B and 13A]. Collection MSA 140.

James Kilgore Papers

James Kilgore (1865-1950) was a founding faculty member of the Southern Methodist University (SMU) School of Theology (now Perkins School of Theology), 1915-1934; acting Dean of the School of Theology, 1919-1920 and 1926-1933; and acting President of SMU, 1922-1923. The bulk of the collection is correspondence, but financial documents, apartment applications, and lecture invitations are also included. The contents were created and collected by Kilgore during his years of service to SMU. Extent: 2 boxes (2 linear feet) [Boxes 5-6]. Acquired. Collection BridArch 1.009.

Leah Wilson King Collection on Jane Manton Marshall

This collection comprises materials documenting the artistic works of Jane Marshall and many personal connections between Marshall and Leah Wilson King. Marshall directed the Perkins School of Theology Church Music Summer School (CMSS) from 1976 to 1983. Leah Wilson King directed the CMSS from 1987 to 2010. Date range: 1985-2018. Extent: 1 box (.25 linear foot). [Box 1945A]. Gift of Leah Wilson King, 2018-2019. Collection STA 71.

William Peter King Papers

Typescript writings of Methodist pastor, author, and book editor Rev. William Peter King, D.D. (1871-1957). From 1932 to 1940 King served as editor of The [Nashville] Christian Advocate, official organ of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. Extent: 4 folders (.25 linear foot) [Box 126A]. Gift of Joseph D. Quillian, Jr., 1981. Collection MSA 119.

James E. Kirby Papers

Papers of the Dean of Perkins School of Theology, 1981-1994, including materials from post-retirement projects. Extent: 67 boxes (47 linear feet) [Boxes 127-160, 398-413, 1901, and 1804-1811]. Gift of James E. Kirby. Collection STA 11. Note: The administrative records of Perkins School of Theology are closed to the public for a period of fifty years. Until that amount of time has elapsed, only the office of origination may access their archived records.

Emil F. and Willie C. Kluck Papers

This collection features scrapbooks, correspondence, news clippings, and ephemera documenting the lives of Rev. Emil F. Kluck (1891-1952) and his wife, Willie Casselberry Kluck (1890-1977). Rev. Kluck was educated at Blinn Memorial College (B.S., 1926) and the School of Theology of Southern Methodist University (B.D., 1932). After serving in World War I, Kluck became a school teacher and administrator. Following a call to the ministry, he was licensed to preach in 1929, served the Grandview Circuit in the Central Texas Conference while a student at SMU, and was admitted into the Southwest Texas Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South in 1931. Extent: 2 boxes (1.5 linear feet) [Boxes 1844 A-B]. Gift of Ron Philo, 2014. Collection MSA 131.

Ladies Union Aid Society Records

The Ladies’ Union Aid Society of the Methodist Episcopal Church of New York City, New York was founded in 1850. The organization was established to provide care for infirm church members. The Ladies’ Union Aid Society records include three ledgers of minutes, notes, and financial reports dating from 1858 to 1883. Extent: 2 boxes (1.5 linear feet) [Boxes 1939A-B]. Acquired. Collection MSA 33.

Daniel Thatcher Lake Papers

Ministerial credentials and a scrapbook of published articles written by Rev. Daniel Thatcher Lake (1828-1891), a minister in the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and later in the Methodist Protestant Church. Extent: 2 folders (.2 linear foot) [Box 1730A]. Gift of Emogene Mize, circa 1970. Collection MSA 67.

William B. Lawrence Papers

Papers of the Dean of Perkins School of Theology, 2002-2016. Extent: 105 boxes (102.5 linear feet) [Boxes 1534-1535, 1585-1680, 1689-1694]. Gift of William B. Lawrence. Collection STA 12. Note: The administrative records of Perkins School of Theology are closed to the public for a period of fifty years. Until that amount of time has elapsed, only the office of origination may access their archived records.

F. D. Leete Collection of Andrew Longacre Letters

This collection comprises seventy-two manuscript letters written by the Rev. Andrew Longacre, D.D. (1831-1906) during the period 1860 to 1862. Andrew Longacre was an engraver, watercolorist, and Methodist minister who held pastoral appointments in Pennsylvania, New York, and Maryland beginning in the 1850s. From 1860 to 1862 Rev. Longacre served as the assistant pastor at the American Chapel in Paris, an interdenominational ministry of the American and Foreign Christian Union. Extent: 1 box (.5 linear foot) [Box 2069B]. Gift of Frederick DeLand Leete, 1956. Collection MSA 142.

F. D. Leete Collection on Methodist Bishops

The F. D. Leete collection on Methodist Bishops comprises eight boxes of correspondence, historical data, and images of 254 Methodist bishops collected by Bishop Frederick DeLand Leete (1866-1958) and augmented by Bridwell Library staff until 1979. Extent: 9 boxes (9.5 linear feet) [Boxes 574-579A and 2022-2023]. Gift of Frederick DeLand Leete, 1956. Collection MSA 9.

F. D. Leete Methodist Historical Collection

This collection comprises documents and photographs relevant to the study of the history of Methodism as collected by Bishop Frederick DeLand Leete (1866-1958). Extent: 14 boxes (14 linear feet) [Boxes 580-589, 592-594 and 596]. Gift of Frederick DeLand Leete, 1956. Collection MSA 10.

Mark C. Lewis Ministerial Papers

One folder of documents and a 6-DVD biography of Rev. Dr. Mark C. Lewis. Lewis, a 1954 graduate of Perkins School of Theology, has served in pastoral leadership in the Texas Annual Conference for more than fifty years. Extent: 2 folders [Box 1546A]. Collection MSA 147.

Charles Alexander Long Saddlebag, Spurs, and Photograph

Spurs and saddlebag used by Rev. Charles A. Long (1881-1986), Methodist missionary to Brazil. Also, a photograph of the June 1886 Beaumont District Conference of the M. E. Church, South. Extent: 1 box (1 linear foot) [Box 277]. Gift, 1976. Collection MSA 68.

Andrew Longacre Papers

The Andrew Longacre papers comprise diaries, correspondence, sermon notes, poems, drawings, and other manuscripts and print items created or owned by Andrew Longacre (1831-1906), an American Methodist minister and artist. Rev. Longacre held pastoral appointments in Pennsylvania, New York, and Maryland for nearly fifty years beginning in the 1850s. He traveled internationally from 1860 to 1862, serving as assistant pastor of the American Chapel in Paris. Extent: 13 boxes (7 linear feet) [Boxes 2064-2069A and 2129A]. Gift of Andrew Longacre, 2002. Collection MSA 141.

Robin W. Lovin Papers

Papers of the Dean of Perkins School of Theology, 1994-2002. Extent: 13 boxes (12 linear feet) [Boxes 333-344]. Collection STA 13. Note: The administrative records of Perkins School of Theology are closed to the public for a period of fifty years. Until that amount of time has elapsed, only the office of origination may access their archived records.

Roger Loyd Papers

Office papers, including Perkins Journal & editorial files. Extent: 1 box (.5 linear foot) [Box 2091]. Collection BLA 5.

Using this Guide

  • Browse for materials in the A-Z tabs by collection title or last name.
  • Alternatively, use the search box in the upper right corner to search by name or keyword.

Need More Help?

Profile Photo
Jane Elder

Need More Help?

Profile Photo
Arvid Nelsen
Contact:
Bridwell Library, 230A
214-768-3440