Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bridwell Library Archival Collections: A

Gross Alexander Letter Book

Contains manuscript copies of letters written by Gross Alexander (1852-1915) between March and October 1873. Alexander was an educator, minister, presiding elder, and editor of Methodist Quarterly Review. Extent: 1 file (.1 linear foot) [Box 465A]. Collection MSA 124.

Joseph L. Allen Papers

Comprise social ethics teaching files and research on the history of Perkins School of Theology. Professor Allen was a faculty member of the Perkins School of Theology from 1957 to 1998. In retirement Allen researched and wrote Perkins School of Theology: A Centennial History, published by Southern Methodist University Press in 2011. Extent: 7 boxes (4 linear feet) [Boxes 934-936, 1016B-1017A, 1789, and 2188C]. Collection STA 37.

Archives Image Files

Comprise photographs, maps, and other images of various sizes and formats not clearly associated with named archival collections. Extent: 4 boxes (3 linear feet) [Boxes 1943B, 1944A, 2001A, 2200, and flat files] Collection BLA 25.

Archives Subject Files

Contains ephemeral materials about Perkins, Bridwell, and United Methodist-related topics. Includes biographical data, small publications, research notes, and other items that are not part of named archival collections. Extent: 3 file drawers and 1 box (5 linear feet) Collection BLA 24.

Frances Shutspine Miller Ardis Collection

Contains two Ardis family artifacts from Texas: a satchel and an apron. Frances S. Miller Ardis died in 1885. Extent: 1 box (1 linear foot) [Box 276]. Collection MSA 60.

J. M. Armstrong Diary

Rev. J. M. Armstrong (1856-1942), a graduate of Emory and Henry College (B. A. 1881 and M. A. 1884), served as a Methodist minister in Georgia and Texas.  This collection comprises two manuscript diary volumes: 1885-1890 and 1938-1942. Extent: 2 folders (.1 linear foot) [Box 1922A]. Collection MSA 126. Gift of Wanda W. Smith, 1965.

James Atkins Papers

Documents the work of Methodist Episcopal Church, South minister, educator, and Bishop James Atkins (1850-1923).  He played a leading role in the founding of Southern Methodist University (SMU). Extent: 9 boxes (6 linear feet) [Boxes 211 A -213 B, 2004, 2006]. Gift of Joseph T. Shackford, 1978. Collection MSA 1.

Collection of Autographs

Includes autographs and other documents bearing the signatures of more than two hundred seventeenth- through twentieth-century celebrities who lived in the United States, Canada, Mexico, Great Britain, Ireland, and Germany. Extent: 6 boxes (5 linear feet) [Room 228A manuscript shelves]. Acquired. Collection BridColl 01. Contact Arvid Nelsen for assistance. 

Using this Guide

  • Browse for materials in the A-Z tabs by collection title or last name.
  • Alternatively, use the search box in the upper right corner to search by name or keyword.

Need More Help?

Profile Photo
Arvid Nelsen
Contact:
Bridwell Library, 230A
214-768-3440