Skip to Main Content

Jerry Bywaters Special Collections: S

Evaline Sellors Art Work and Papers

Consists of a bound portfolio of photographs documenting the career of this Texas sculptor as well as two drawings depicting scenes from the ruins of Chichen-Itza by Octavio Medellin. BSC.1995.0040

Manning Shannon Collection

Contains scrapbook, lobby card and photograph relating to silent films. BSC.2005.0070

Troy Sherrod Papers

Contains archival material and clippings relating to Dallas theaters. BSC.2014.0085

Martha Simkins Collections

Consists of 3 file folders relating to Texas artist Martha Simkins. BSC.2002.0062

Robert and Cheryl Skinner Collection

Robert Skinner served as SMU’s music librarian then as the founding director of the Hamon. This collection consists of music performance programs from Dallas, Chicago, and other venues, including international ones. BSC.1990.0014

Wilson Snodgrass Collection

Consists of archival material relating to opera and theatre performances, including Mildred Miller. BSC.2010.0079

Everett Spruce Artwork and Papers

Consists of approximately two and-a-half feet of archival material, three of the artist’s sketchbooks, and forty-four additional works on paper. A native of rural Arkansas, Spruce studied under Olin Travis and Tom Stell at the Dallas Art Institute and taught in the department of studio art at the University of Texas at Austin from 1940 to 1974. He is considered to be a Texas regionalist artist and one of several artists working in this style in Dallas during the 1920s, 1930s, and 1940s. BSC.2000.0057

Frances Deaderick Stuart Collection

Frances Deaderick Stuart graduated from SMU in 1933 and served for many years as secretary at SMU to Dr. Paul van Katwijk. This collection consists of manuscripts, clippings, correspondence, photographs, programs, sheet music, and scrapbooks documenting Mrs. Stuart’s life and career and other aspects of SMU history. It also includes material concerning Mrs. Stuart’s first piano teacher, Frances Taylor Rather. BSC.1996.0046

Using This Guide

  • Browse for materials in the A-Z tabs by collection title or last name.
  • Alternatively, use the search box in the upper right corner to search by name or keyword.

The Jerry Bywaters Special Collections Wing is located in the Jake and Nancy Hamon Arts Library and holds archival materials on visual and performing arts of the American Southwest.