Consists of documents and scores of Fern Hobson Beecher. BSC.1990.0015
This collection, donated by the Belo Corporation, includes scripts of radio and television programs that aired in the Southwest from the early 1940s through the early 1960s on affiliates of the corporation. BSC.2003.0063
This collection consists of 1 box of clippings, art exhibition catalogues, and Chicago and New York City programs. BSC.2007.0073
Consists of archival materials, ink drawing and knife of artist Charles P. Bock. BSC.2013.0083
The Rosa Bonheur Collection contains correspondence primarily that of French painter Rosa Bonheur (1822-1899), donated to Bywaters Special Collections in 1990. She is best known for her many paintings of animals, such as Ploughing in the Nivernais and the Horse Fair. In 1865, she received the Légion d’honneur from the Empress Eugénie, the first female artist to receive this award. Rosa Bonheur is represented in prominent museums around the world, including New York’s Metropolitan Museum of Art and London’s National Gallery of Art. BSC. 1990.0005.
Consists of twenty-six lithographs executed by this Dallas painter and lithographer. Bowling completed most of these works in the 1930s and 1940s, the heyday of the loosely affiliated group of Dallas artists since dubbed the "Lone Star Regionalists." BSC.1990.0006.
The collection consists of 24 works of art executed by noted American abstract expressionist artist James Brooks (1906-1992) including three paintings and 10 lithographs dating from Brooks’ career before and during World War II as well as 10 post-war lithographs and one silkscreen print. BSC.2016.0086.
The Danny Buraczeski Retrospective Project curated by Professor Patty Delaney, SMU faculty in the Division of Dance, contains : oral history videos, professionally produced videos of dances performed by students of the SMU Meadows Division of Dance and the Zenon Dance Company; a professionally produced video of a panel discussion held at SMU, metadata files and releases. Choreography copyright held by Danny Buraczeski. Digital Files stored on Rosetta. BSC.2019.0099
Jerry Bywaters’s career in the arts as an artist, art critic, teacher, gallery director, and museum director is reflected in the material he collected throughout his life. He used these artistic avenues to promote the uniqueness of the arts in Texas and the southwest and was a major advocate of the Texas regionalist movement during the 1930s and 1940s. Beginning with his early association at Southern Methodist University, and the Southwest Review office, until his death in 1989, Bywaters accrued catalogues, correspondence, newspaper clippings, photographs, and slides that today is a major collection that documents his career, the history of the regionalist movement, and the artists who participated in this historical artistic development. The association between Bywaters and his contemporaries is also reflected in the art collection with works on paper by Bywaters and other artists associated with the Texas regionalist movement of the 1930s (38 museum cases). In addition to the archives, the collection has oral history transcripts of artists acquainted with Bywaters. The bulk of the collection was donated to SMU by Mr. Bywaters and his wife, Mary. After their deaths, the Bywaters’s children and their families continued to donate materials to the collection. BSC.1990.0001.
The Jerry Bywaters Special Collections Wing is located in the Jake and Nancy Hamon Arts Library and holds archival materials on visual and performing arts of the American Southwest.
TARO makes descriptions of the rich archival, manuscript, and museum collections in repositories across the state available to the public.