Contains concert programs and clippings on Jane Allen. BSC.2002.0061
A Dallas native, Arnone's career began in 1976 with the play Vanities, which featured the work of other notable SMU alums. The play was written by Jack Heifner '68, directed by Garland Wright '69, produced by Wilton Justice '68 and starred Kathy Bates '69. A founding member of New York Lion Theatre Company, Arnone designed numerous critically acclaimed productions including K: Impressions of The Trial by Franz Kafka, for which he received his first Obie Award. He has partnered with luminary directors and legendary actors for both on and off Broadway productions. His work in Dallas includes production at the University of Dallas, the Dallas Theater Center, and Undermain Theater in Dallas. In 1993, Arnone's set designs for The Who's Tommy won many prestigious theater awards including the Tony Award, the New York Drama Critics Award, the Outer Critics Circle Award, the Los Angeles Film Critics Association Award, Canada's Dora Mavor Moore Award and an Olivier nomination. He also won a second Obie Award for sustained success in theater. Arnone has also served as an educator, teaching students at SMU, Carnegie Mellon, University of Southern California and the Cincinnati Conservatory of Music. This collection includes production bibles (plans, sketches, story boards, photographs, prop lists, reviews and programs), 3D scale models, and flat files. BSC.2021.0104
Venora DeShields Arthur graduated from SMU with a degree in music (specializing in violin performance) in 1930. This collection consists of approximately sixty performance programs, a directory of the Dallas Wednesday Morning Choral Club, and a photograph of one of Mrs. Arthur’s childhood homes. The programs date primarily from the 1930s-1940s and document performances in Dallas (including SMU), San Antonio, and Waco. DeGolyer Library holds an extensive collection of the papers of Mrs. Arthur’s father, Texas historian and art patron/collector James T. DeShields, which she donated simultaneously with this collection. BSC.1991.0020
The collection includes clippings, correspondence, documents, ephemera, photographs, publicity, published works, and scrapbooks relating to the club membership and activities- collected by former students of Vivian Aunspaugh, who began teaching art in Dallas in the early twentieth century. BSC.1994.0035
The Jerry Bywaters Special Collections Wing is located in the Jake and Nancy Hamon Arts Library and holds archival materials on visual and performing arts of the American Southwest.
TARO makes descriptions of the rich archival, manuscript, and museum collections in repositories across the state available to the public.