Consists of costume design related archival materials and publications. BSC.1995.0039
Includes correspondence, documents, photograph of Barbara Maples, slides taken in Colorado in the 1950s, and handmade holiday cards sent to Barbara Maples in the 1950s and 1960s from art colleagues and members of the Texas Printmakers organization including Janet Turner, Evaline Sellors, and Mary Lightfoot. BSC.2012.0082
The donor’s mother, Frances McClellan Marshall, was active in the Dallas music community from the WWI years through the 1950s. This collection consists of approximately fifteen performance programs documenting that involvement and two archival items related to Mrs. Marshall’s music education. BSC.1994.0036
This small collection consists of 1 folder of music scores. BSC.1990.0010
Includes archival material relating to Dallas theater and music performances ca. 1910-1940 as well as Dallas art exhibition catalogues. BSC.1996.0043
Consists of 232 prints by Texas regionalist artist Merritt Mauzey. BSC.2007.0075
The Mary McCord/Edyth Renshaw Collection on the Performing Arts is an extensive collection that encompasses a diverse cross-section of performing arts and includes significant holdings in the history of theatre, film, music and dance. The McCord/Renshaw Collection originally began as the McCord Theatre Museum at Southern Methodist University in 1933 and was first located in Dallas Hall. It was founded by Department of Speech faculty members, including David Russell and Edyth Renshaw, and named in honor of Mary McCord, the first speech professor at SMU. The collection consists of catalogs, clipping files, correspondence, photographs, playbills, posters, programs, scripts, set designs, and works of art on paper. While the collection emphasizes the performing arts in Texas and the Southwest, including papers of the Dallas Little Theatre and SMU's Arden Club, it also contains materials related to film and theater productions throughout the United States and Europe. BSC.1990.0002
The following finding aids refer to series and sub-collections within the overarching McCord/Renshaw collection.
One of Texas’s best-known sculptors, Octavio Medellin (1907-1999) donated papers which consist of photographs, exhibition catalogues, clipping files, and correspondence, and also works of art on paper, print blocks, fused glass experiments, and slides. A native of Mexico, Medellin immigrated to San Antonio with his family during childhood from the state of San Luis Potosi. Following studies at the San Antonio Art Institute and Chicago Art Institute, he taught at San Antonio’s Witte Museum. Medellin’s residency of six months researching the Mayan-Toltec ruins of Chichen Itza and at Uzmal in 1938 was funded by San Antonio art patron Lucy Maverick. He subsequently taught at North Texas State Teachers’ College (now the University of North Texas) during the late 1930s and 1940s. Following World War II, Medellin moved to Dallas and taught sculpture at the Dallas Museum of Fine Arts School until 1966. He remained in the city for the next thirteen years, operating the Medellin School of Sculpture. He resided in Bandera, Texas from 1979 until moving back to Dallas a few years before his death. His work won numerous awards and is represented in private collections, museums (including SMU’s University Art Collection) and public buildings, especially houses of worship, in the Dallas area. In 1996, he received a “Legends” award from the Dallas Visual Arts Center. BSC.1990.0011
The Alice Atkins Meredith art work and papers consists of designs, drawings, and notes made by the artist. Born in 1905 in Dallas, Texas, Meredith was a member of the Klepper Art Club and served as the entertainment chairman for the Reaugh Art Club. Meredith exhibited in the State Fair of Texas art exhibitions and in the Allied Arts exhibitions at the Dallas Museum of [Fine] Arts during the 1930s. BSC.1993.0033
Documents the career of SMU's first Dean of Music and activities of the Mickwitz Club. These approximately two linear feet of archival materials include photographs, scrapbooks, annual directories, recital programs, correspondence, and clipping files; references to music activities at other Dallas institutions, such as St. Mary's College, also appear. BSC.1999.0051
The Jerry Bywaters Special Collections Wing is located in the Jake and Nancy Hamon Arts Library and holds archival materials on visual and performing arts of the American Southwest.
TARO makes descriptions of the rich archival, manuscript, and museum collections in repositories across the state available to the public.