Research Guides: LAW 7356: International Crimes: Websites & Blogs

Websites

ABA-ICC
American University War Crimes Research Office
Provides a variety of documents, webcasts, etc. to promote the development and enforcement of international criminal and humanitarian law, primarily through the provision of specialized legal research assistance to courts and tribunals.
Amnesty International
Provides country reports and articles on a variety of human rights topics.
ASIL Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law: International Criminal Law
Created by the American Society of International Law. Excellent starting point. Provides major online sources for researching international crimes.
Coalition for the ICC
Provides a variety of electronic and print publications including academic articles and other information about the ICC and the Rome Statute.
Commentary on the Law of the International Criminal Court
The Commentary on the Law of the International Criminal Court (CLICC, often referred to as the 'Klamberg Commentary') provides a provision-by-provision analysis of the Rome Statute and the Rules of Procedure and Evidence of the International Criminal Court.
Commentary on the Law of the International Criminal Court (Updates)
This website provides updates to the CLICC.
Crimes of War
This project is a “collaboration of journalists, lawyers and scholars dedicated to raising public awareness of the laws of war and their application to situations of conflict.” Search by region or by theme. This hasn't been updated in a few years, but it may be a useful place to start.
FIDH
Provides press releases, reports, and other documents related to its mission to defend all civil, political, economic, social and cultural rights as set out in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.
Globalex’s International Criminal Courts for the Former Yugoslavia, Rwanda, and Sierra Leone: A Guide to Online and Print Resources
Updated through August 2014. Provides a good overview of the law and relevant documents.
Globalex’s The Crisis in Darfur: Researching the Legal issues
Updated through June 2014. Provides a good overview of the law and relevant documents.
Grotius Center
The Hague Justice Portal
Provides information, updates, and research related to The Hague, the international criminal justice center of the world. Updated through January 2016.
Human Rights Center, UC Berkeley
Provides studies, reports, amicus briefs, and other documents related to current and ongoing human rights issues around the world.
Human Rights Watch
Provides reports on a variety of human rights topics and summarizes key human rights issues in more than 90 countries and territories worldwide.
ICC Forum
Provides various materials including videos and lectures to allow members of the legal community, governments, academics, and others to debate complex issues of international criminal law faced by the Office of the Prosecutor in the course of its work at the ICC.
Institute for War & Peace Reporting
Provides news stories, impact reports and analysis in support of its mission to build the skills of professional and citizen journalists working in traditional media and in social and new media around the world.
International Bar Association
Provides reports, commentary, and news releases on a range of issues related to the ICC, fair trial rights, and the legal profession.
International Center for Transitional Justice
Provides briefing papers, fact sheets, newsletters, and reports on its efforts to to help societies in transition address legacies of massive human rights violations and build civic trust in state institutions as protectors of human rights.
International Committee of the Red Cross
Provides reports, articles, videos, and other materials related to international humanitarian law.
International Criminal Court’s Elements of Crimes
Explains the legal intricacies of various international crimes.
International Crisis Group
Provides commentary, alerts, reports, and briefings related to its mission to prevent and resolve international situations that may result in deadly conflict.
Open Society Justice Initiative
Provides articles, videos, and podcasts on various issues and regions to promote the building of vibrant and tolerant societies whose governments are accountable and open to the participation of all people.
The Peace Palace Library’s International Criminal Law Research Guide
Extensive online bibliography.
Peter Robinson
Saddam Hussein Trial
Law Library of Congress's summary of relevant events, documents, and links.
The Trial of Charles Taylor: International Criminal Justice in the Making
Provided courtroom updates from the trial of former Liberian president Charles Taylor. Archived in 2014.
University of Virginia's Digital Exhibit on The Tokyo War Crimes Trial
UN Office on Drugs and Crime
Provides legal tools, reports, treaties, translated statutes, and statistics on international drug and crime control.
Yale University’s Genocide Program

Blogs

Reading blogs is an excellent way to keep current on the latest issues in a particular field or subject area. There are literally hundreds of criminal justice and international law blogs. For lists of relevant blogs, see the American Bar Association Journal’s criminal justice and international law list. Below is a list of blogs you might find relevant.

Justice in Conflict: https://justiceinconflict.org/
International Crimes Database: http://www.internationalcrimesdatabase.org/
Hague Justice Portal: http://haguejusticeportal.net/
International Justice Monitor: https://www.ijmonitor.org/
Just Security: https://www.justsecurity.org/
Lawfare: https://www.lawfareblog.com/
Opinio Juris: http://opiniojuris.org/
IntLawGrrls: https://ilg2.org/
EJIL: Talk!: http://www.ejiltalk.org/
James G. Stewart: http://jamesgstewart.com/category/blog/international-criminal-justice/
Spreading the Jam: https://dovjacobs.com/
PhD Studies in Human Rights: http://humanrightsdoctorate.blogspot.com/
International Law Reporter: http://ilreports.blogspot.com/
ICC Forum: http://iccforum.com/
Lieber Code: http://www.liebercode.org/