Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Online Resources
Portal to Texas History
Offers a digital gateway to the rich collections held in Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, and private collections.
Project Avalon: Texas From Independence to Annexation 1836-1846
An excellent gathering of searchable and digital landmarks in Texas history
The Texas Slavery Project
Founded and directed by historian Andrew J. Torget (University of North Texas), this resource uses an extensive database of slaves and slaveholders in Texas from 1837 to 1845 to examine the growth of that institution in Texas during the era of the republic.
Newspapers & Magazines
This publication has chronicled life in contemporary Texas since 1973, reporting on vital issues such as politics, the environment, industry, and education.
Texas Monthly (1992-Present)
More recent issues of the above publication, accessed through SMU Libraries.
Texas Digital Newspaper Program
Digitized and preserved newspapers from over seventy Texas counties, ranging in date from 1829 to 2012.
Texas Historical Archives & Agencies
Texas State Historical Association
Located at the University of North Texas, TSHA publishes the Handbook of Texas and the Southwestern Historical Quarterly, two crucial publications to those interested in Texas history.
Texas Historic Sites Atlas
Features nearly 300,000 site records, including data on Official Texas Historical Markers and National Register of Historic Places properties in Texas.
Texas Historical Commission
The official state agency for historic preservation. THC staff consults with citizens and organizations to preserve Texas' architectural, archeological and cultural landmarks. Topics include archeology, cemeteries, courthouses, historic markers, and military history.
Texas State Library and Archives Commission
Preserves and documents the heritage and culture of Texas by identifying, collecting, and making available for research the official records of Texas government and other significant historical resources. The State Archives includes archival government records dating back to the 18th century, as well as newspapers, journals, books, manuscripts, photographs, and historical maps.
The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) Archive at UNT
A repository for records documenting the history and culture of the LGBT communities in the South and the Southwest.This major collecting initiative documents people, places, and events through primary source materials, including letters, photographs, newspapers and magazines, scrapbooks, diaries, audio-visual materials, organizational records, posters, flyers and objects.
Catholic Archives of Texas
Collects, preserves, and makes available for research those records of individuals and organizations engaged in work reflecting the goals of the Catholic Church in Texas.
Baylor University Texas Collection and University Archives
Major holdings and frequently requested materials: Agriculture and Texas; Arts and Architecture in Texas; Biographies of Texans; Dissertations and Theses; Education and Texas; Ethnic Groups of Texas; Genealogy of Texans; History of Texas and Texans; Law and Law Enforcement of Texas; Literature of Texas and by Texans; Medicine in Texas; Politics in Texas; Regional Culinary Arts in Texas; Religion and Texas; The Sciences in Texas; Sports in Texas
Texas Woman's University
Includes material focused on the life of women in Texas and the Southwest. Also has a renowned cookbook collection and collections documenting Women Airforce Service Pilots (WASPs).
UNT Texana Collection
Includes collections of Larry McMurtry and Anson Jones.
UT Dallas Special Collections
The History of Aviation Collection consists of a world-class aeronautical archive and library. The Wineburgh Philatelic Research Library is a regional resource for philatelic and postal history. The Louise B. Belsterling Library holds a collection of rare botanical books.
University of Texas Dolph Briscoe Center for American History
The Center for American History archival, artifact, and library collections contain historical treasures documenting key themes in Texas and U.S. history. These treasures echo with stories of the people, places, events, and ideas that have shaped our nation's history.