Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources at SMU
The WPA Dallas Guide and History by
Call Number: F394.D213 W8 1992
Publication Date: 1992
An excellent place to start for research on Texas towns and Dallas landmarks and neighborhoods.
Dallas Historic Aerial Photographs
Represents a complete set of air images commissioned by the City of Dallas and photographed by Sherman Mills Fairchild in October of 1930 flying out of Love Field. SMU's Edwin J. Foscue Map Library retains in its collections all but eight of the original 93 images, as well as a photo image of the master grid map.
George W. Cook Dallas/Texas Image Collection
Contains several thousand items from the George W. Cook Dallas/Texas Image Collection, which contains photographs, postcards, ephemera, family collections, documents, postal history, and three-dimensional objects.
Over time newspapers' names may change. The Dallas Morning News was known as the The Dallas Times Herald from 1954-1991. To find all Dallas newspapers we have access to, use "Dallas (Tex.) -- Newspapers" in the Subject field of the Library Search.
The Dallas Times Herald
Years available on microfilm: 1954- Nov.15, 1963; Dec. 1963- Dec. 15, 1970; Jan. 1971-Oct.7, 1971; Oct.16, 1971- Dec. 9, 1991.
Online Dallas History Sources
Historical Archives and Agencies
Dallas Historical Society
Collects, preserves and exhibits the unique heritage of Dallas and Texas. Holdings include books, manuscripts, and photographs.
Dallas Jewish Historical Society
Preserves and protects collections of written, visual and audible materials that document the history of the Dallas Jewish community, and makes these materials available to the public and researchers.
Dallas Municipal Archives
Archives relating to the city of Dallas. Includes Kennedy assassination materials.
Dallas History & Archives Division
The collection of materials at this division of the Dallas Public Library is one of the largest of its kind in the nation. Holdings span many aspects of the diverse history of not only Dallas and the surrounding area, but the entire state of Texas.
Preservation Dallas: Building Research
Research the history of old buildings and homes throughout the city.
The Dallas Way
The mission of the Dallas Way is to gather, store, organize, and present (in a variety of mediums) the complete GLBT history of Dallas, Texas.
In Fort Worth
Fort Worth Public Library Local History Collection
Includes approximately 10,000 items pertaining to the history of Fort Worth and Tarrant County. These items include city and county government documents, newspapers, directories, cemetery association records, maps as well as popular and scholarly books written by local authors or about local subjects.
National Archives Southwest Region in Fort Worth, Texas
This branch, located in Fort Worth, holds historical records that date from the 1800s to the late 1900s and include letters, photographs, maps, architectural drawings, and other documents received from over 100 Federal agencies and courts in Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and Texas. Highlights include NASA's records and records of the Dawes Act.