SMU Libraries has articles in print, online, and on microfilm. You can search for articles by title or topic in Library Search or databases. Library Search is a good place to start if you don’t know the relevant discipline or if your topic is interdisciplinary. Subject-specific databases are focused search tools with more filters and limiters specific to a discipline.
If you know the title of the article, the best way to find it is with Library Search. If you get too many results, add the author name.
If you are unable to find the article, include articles available through Interlibrary Loan under Refine my results on the left. If you find the article, sign in to request from another institution.
Not all articles can be found through Library Search. Try searching for the journal title. The record will tell you what dates we have available, and if you are able to view it online or find it on the shelf.
Search with keywords in Library Search or in databases. Unlike internet searching, use only the main terms.
Use quotation marks around a phrase to find results that only have those words appearing right next to each other. This gives you fewer, more relevant results.
For more relevant and focused results, search with subject terms in a disciplinary database.
In Library Search, look for the Read Article, Download PDF, or Available Online link. In database records, look for a link to the Full Text, a PDF, or HTML.
If a database does not have full text, select “Other SMU Options” to see if we have it in another database or in a print journal. If we don’t, sign in to your account and click “Request from Another Institution” to borrow it through Interlibrary Loan.
You can search by DOI or PMID in the Find Full Text box on this page.
Articles may be in print journals or on microfilm. Find the library and shelf location in the Library Search record under “Get It.” Journals are usually arranged alphabetically. Pay attention to the years listed in the record to ensure it is for the year you need.
Some journals are only available to use in the library and can’t be checked out. The record will note that it is “limited access” or “non-circulating”. You may need to ask at the holding library’s desk. Special Collections often require an appointment to see materials.