Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Julia's Recommendations for Getting Started
Search SMU Libraries for books and scholarly articles. Do an Advanced Search with the subject "ethnic studies" to limit resources to this field of study.
Independent Voices (JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
A digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals. These periodicals were produced by feminists, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Explores cultural differences, contributions & influences in the global community
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
A current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, & more.
Research Help by Topic
Finding Resources by Language
Find resources in Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Greek, Italian, Japanese, Latin, Russian, & Spanish.
Search for current and historic news coverage.
Literatures of different people: African & African American, Asian American & Pacific Islander, Hispanic & Latin American, Jewish, and Native American
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Use the Advanced Search options to limit results to specific cultural studies collections, including African American and Latin American studies, Islamic studies, Chinese studies, and more.
Racism, Not Race by
Publication Date: 2021
Tackles common misconceptions about race, human biology, and racism using an accessible question-and-answer format to explain the differences between social and biological notions of race.
Archival Collections at SMU
Elmer and Diane Powell Collection on Mexico and the Mexican Revolution
Consists of many unique materials with a focus on the Revolution period and key political and military men.
Latin America and the Caribbean: Photographs, Manuscripts, and Imprints
Portrays the landscape, people, and technology of various countries, including Costa Rica, Peru , Bolivia, El Salvador, and Cuba in the late 19th century.
Mexico: Photographs, Manuscripts, and Imprints
One of the most comprehensive American collections from the period ca. 1865-1935 totaling approximately 16,000 photographs and 3,000 negatives.