Research Guides: HIST 3377: South Africa: Visual resources

Image Resources

Listed below are some highly recommended resources for finding images. Remember: Avoid using Google Images since they often do not have captions or copyright information available.

Africa Media Online
This website is a good first stop for your project. It has over 120000 African pictures available online. The emphasis of the company is to enable Africans to tell Africa's story in the global arena. When you are using material from this website, remember to provide full captions and link back to their website.
NOTE: You will need to register and create an account first.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
SMU subscription (login required from off-campus). An extensive library of digitized images of paintings, photographs, drawings, and more.

Baileys African History Archive (BAHA)
"Bailey's African History Archives holds 40 years of material from all the editions of Drum Magazine and it's various sister publications - Golden City Post, Trust, True Love and City Press. The Archives contains a wealth of information from politics to culture and complexities of the vast Anglophone African nations."
NOTE: As always, provide full captions and link back to this website. If the photographer is identified as Jurgen Schadeberg then credit him, not BAHA.
Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives
National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution
Jurgen Schadeberg
Jurgen Schadeberg worked for Drum magazine, a pivotal South African magazine, in the 1950s. His photographs for the publication, "represent the life and struggle of South Africans during Apartheid and include important figures in South Africa’s history such as Nelson Mandela, Moroka, Walter Sisulu, Yusuf Dadoo, Huddleston and many others who have been documented at key moments such as during The Defiance Campaign of 1952, The Treason Trial of 1958, The Sophiatown Removals and the Sharpeville Funeral in 1960" (website description).

NOTE: Remember to provide full captions and a link back to the website.

If you find material you want to use through South Africa History Online (SAHO) please send a request to Mads Norgaard (mads@sahistory.org.za).

Collections include:

Omar Badsha's photographs (1970s-1990s)

Frescura Collection (early postcards of places and mining in South Africa)

Van Zeyl Collection (early postcards or Pretoria and Chinese miners on the Rand)

Pretoria News Collection (Rivonia Trial, Silverton Siege)

Maude-Stone Collection (early postcards of Durban)

SAHO

Citing Images

All images must be fully and correctly cited, including:

Caption/Event detail

Date (day, month, year)

Photographer/Archive acknowledgement

Permission details/usage requests

Hist 3377: Examples are provided in your handout.