Skip to Main Content
Search Library Resources
Find & Borrow
Research & Teaching
Scholarship & Research
Locations & Collections
Hamon Arts Library
Underwood Law Library
Fort Burgwin Library
Exhibits & Digital Collections
Special Collections & Archives
Connect With Us
Research Guides by Discipline
How Do I . . . ? Guides
Find Your Librarian
Resources for Reporting
Search for guides & databases
Resources for Reporting: Local Info
ProPublica Non-profit Explorer
Find Form 990s for non-profits (including SMU) for financial information
SMU's Clery Act Reporting
Every college is required to disclose statistics related to campus safety. Here is SMU's.
Dallas County Quick Facts
Basic Dallas County demographic, business, and geographical statistics. There is an option to browse more detailed data sets.
Dallas Independent School District Dropout stats
Provides statistics about the dropout rates of 21 high schools in 3 sections of Dallas (North, Southeast, and Oakcliff).
Dallas Police Department Crime Reports
Includes a Uniform Crime Report (UCR), data by crime, and address search for crime information around that area. More advanced data includes reports by sector and beat.
DFW Real Estate Report
Provides basic current demographic, housing, retail, hotel, office, etc. data.
City of Dallas
Find contact information for city officials.
Texas Agriculture Stats
The Texas Fact Sheets provides basic data, while the Census of Agriculture for Texas provides more detailed data.
The archive for historical Texas data.
Click "Almanac Home" on the top menu or use the side menu to get current data for agriculture, business, elections, environment, population, and more.
Texas Crime Data
Texas Crime Reports, 1999-2019
Texas Department of Public Safety
Crime records, sex offender registry, and more.
Texas Economy at a Glance
current labor statistics with back data from 2002-present.
Texas Education Agency
Texas Export Data
Texas Labor Market Information
From the Texas Workforce Commission, info on local economics, employment, wages, and industries.
Texas Prison Statistics
Texas Demographic Center
Provides population data that can be displayed geographically through maps. Use the reference section to identify counties and their codes.
Texas State Government Expenditures
Search spending by agency, category, or detailed purchase code, payments to vendors, travel expenses, and TxDOT expenses.
Texas Department of Transportation
Statistics and reports on bridges, roads, rail, etc.
TRAIL: Texas Records Information and Locator Service
Provides access to Texas State government information contained in electronic publications and basic information about state agencies including contact, legal, budgetary and background resources
Questions About SMU History?
Academic Sources >>
Feb 23, 2023 10:32 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.