Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Education: Find Articles

Searching Tips

Journal articles are a good way to find detailed information on a narrow, or specific topic. To search multiple journals simultaneously, you can search from a variety of different databases. Some databases search across multiple disciplines while others are limited to a single subject. When you find the article you want, you can either read it in full (Full-text) within the database or use bibliographic information to search for the journal using the library catalog. (See Finding Journals and Periodicals, below.)

Finding Journals and Periodicals

SMU Libraries has subscriptions to thousands of journals and periodicals. Individual titles can be found by searching the Library Catalog (Basic Search) using a Journal Title search or by searching the databases.

To search for individual articles related to your research topic, search journal databases using keyword or subject searches. A database will search across multiple journals/magazines at once. Many databases include full-text articles. Music journal databases are listed on the Overview Tab. For all databases available at SMU, go to the Online Resources page.

What's an Index?

While the Library Catalog can tell you if the library owns the Journal Early Music and which issues can be found in the library, it cannot tell you what articles may be found inside. A periodical index is a database that helps you to search for articles contained in journals that are related to your research topic.