SMU History: Faculty & Staff

This collection is comprised of papers from Southern Methodist University history professor James Breeden on administration, academic, campus life, and athletic issues at SMU from the 1970s through the early 1990s. Most of the collection is made up of correspondence, meeting minutes, reports, and other papers related to university operations. Of particular interest in this collection is material on courses and curriculum development (including some of Dr. Breeden’s history courses), faculty compensation and benefits during this time period, university committees and groups such as the Faculty Senate, University Assembly, Undergraduate Council, Women’s Studies Council, and the Faculty Athletic Committee. Some material on the 1986-87 football "death penalty" is also included.

Contains papers from Southern Methodist University history professor Herbert Gambrell. Most of the material relates to the writing of Gambrell’s 1948 biography of Texas Republic President Anson Jones. The collection also contains other writings from Dr. Gambrell, including his recollections on various parts of SMU history. Some personal and academic correspondence is also included.

Lorn Howard joined Southern Methodist University as professor of electrical engineering in 1959. Over the course of his 29 years of active tenure, Dr. Howard founded the Biomedical Engineering Program, established the University's first Electron Microscopy and the Thin Films Laboratories, served as Chief Marshal to the University for 13 years, and wasthe University carillonneur. Topics of the papers include the engineering program at SMU, electron microscopy, and academic governance. This collection includes correspondence, subject and reading files, and grant proposals.

This collection consists of the papers of Elizabeth Gamble Miller, a lecturer and professor of Spanish at SMU from 1962 to 2002. Though the collection spans the period from 1965 through 2006, the bulk of the material comes from Miller’s postdoctoral career (1981-2006). The papers include research materials, essays, translations, translation journals, and a draft of Miller’s master’s thesis.

Ruth Morgan joined Southern Methodist University as an assistant professor of political science in 1966, was promoted to professor in 1974, and served as Provost from 1986-1993. This collection includes correspondence, invitations, subject and reading files, and her meeting notes and calendar. Although these records cover Dr. Morgan's faculty career, the majority of the files reflect her years as Provost.

Ellis William Shuler (1881-1954) was one of the original 35 members of the Southern Methodist University (SMU) faculty and taught at SMU from 1915 until 1952. He was the first Geology professor and as such, contributed greatly to the development of the Geology department. His papers consist of biographical data, correspondence, professional material, essays, articles, reports, and manuscripts covering the years between 1900 and 1955, with the bulk of materials from 1912 to 1954. Included is the manuscript of "Rocks and Rivers" and correspondence between Shuler and fellow geologists William Morris Davis, Robert Hill, and Richard Field. There is also a large collection of correspondence between British journalist Gilbert Floyd. Additionally, a large amount of the correspondence deals with Shuler’s role as head of the Geology Department at Southern Methodist University and Dean of the Graduate School.

Eleanor Tufts was an internationally recognized authority on women artists, as well as a noted art historian, lecturer, and author. She joined the Southern Methodist University Art History Department in 1974 and was instrumental in the opening of the National Museum for Women in the Arts. The collection primarily reflects her professional life, but it also includes some personal items. Her papers consist of biographical data, correspondence, professional material, essays, articles, student papers, and manuscripts covering the years between 1927 and 1991, with the bulk of the materials from 1970-1988. The majority of the material focuses on Dr. Tufts' research in her areas of expertise: women artists, Luis Meléndez and other Spanish artists.

The Commission on the Status of Women at Southern Methodist University addressed women’s issues on campus. The records in this collection are from the third Commission on the Status of Women, which was formed by James H. Zumberge in September 1976. Materials in this collection include correspondence, minutes, meeting agendas, recommendations for action, annual reports to the president, subcommittee reports, memos, notes, newspaper and magazine articles, newsletters, questionnaires, surveys, workshop materials, and membership and subcommittee lists.