Each presidential collection is different, but most have biographical materials and speeches. To locate materials, refer to the collection numbers below. The following list does not include interim presidents.
Dr. Robert S. Hyer
1911 – 1920
Although Southern Methodist University's first president Robert S. Hyer served a relatively short time, he made a very long impact on the university's history. He personally hired most of the first faculty and was responsible for the physical "look" of the campus. After serving as President, Hyer continued to teach physics until his death in 1929.
SMU 1994.0203
Bishop Hiram Abiff Boaz
1920 – 1922
SMU President (later Bishop) Hiram A. Boaz had a long history with the University beginning as the first Vice President and full-time fund raiser hired by SMU in 1913, serving as President for 2 years, and always a supporter of the university until his death in 1962.
SMU 1995.0252
Dr. Charles C. Selecman
1923 – 1938
Dr. Charles Selecman served the University ably during the Depression when funds were hard to find. He built the campus from two buildings to eleven buildings—and added business, law and engineering schools. After his tenure at SMU, Selecman was elected as a bishop to the Methodist Church.
SMU 1995.0247
Dr. Umphrey Lee
1939 – 1954
Umphrey Lee served as the first president of SMU student government. Later he was a very popular president at SMU during World War II. He oversaw our V12 program and our postwar growth with Trailerville. After his retirement as President, he served as Chancellor from 1954 – 1958.
SMU 1995.0248
Dr. Willis Tate
1954 – 1972; 1974 – 1975
Chancellor from 1971 – 1976.
SMU 1995.0250 and SMU 1995.0250x
Willis M. Tate papers, 1939-1989 Finding AidWillis M. Tate (1911-1989) served as the fifth president of Southern Methodist University from 1954-1971. Most of this collection relates to his years as SMU president; materials on his 1955 inauguration, and information on some of his administrative activities as president--the SMU Master Plan, president's conferences, and Tate's efforts to cope with the turmoil of the 1960s. A major portion of this collection is his speeches. Dr. Tate gave a large number of speeches, pertaining to SMU, education, church matters, and various other topics. Also included are biographical and personal material--biographical sketches assembled for SMU, news clippings, awards, and writings of Tate's, and copies of his doctoral dissertation. Other papers concern his activities as chancellor and president emeritus from the late 1970s until his death in 1989.
Dr. Paul Hardin
1972 – 1974
SMU 1995.0249
Collection of records related to Southern Methodist University president Paul Hardin Finding AidDr. Paul Hardin III served as the sixth president of Southern Methodist University for two turbulent years, 1972-1974. He was a native of North Carolina, a lawyer and scholar, and an active Methodist. These papers (mostly collected by others in the SMU community) relate to the presidential search that resulted in the appointment of Paul Hardin as president of SMU, his inauguration, and his resignation. Types of material in the collection include search committee records, correspondence, programs, memoranda, newspaper and magazine articles, and university press releases.
Dr. James H. Zumberge
1975 – 1980
SMU 1998.0326
Dr. L. Donald Shields
1980 - 1986
SMU 1995.0253
L. Donald Shields papers, 1980-1986 Finding AidThis collection contains papers and books from L. Donald Shields, who served as president of Southern Methodist University from 1981-1986. Included are news releases with biographical information on Shields, university reports and statements, copies of speeches he delivered during his tenure at SMU, information on his resignation, and several books on management and school administration.
Dr. A. Kenneth Pye
1987 - 1994
SMU 2006.0381
A. Kenneth Pye papers, 1947-1995 Finding AidThis collection contains papers from A. Kenneth Pye: law professor, chancellor of Duke University, and ninth president of Southern Methodist University from 1987 to 1994. The papers cover Pye’s career comprehensively, with speeches, articles, exams and other course materials from his time as a law professor and university administrator in addition to SMU-related material: reports, memoranda to the faculty and university community, speeches, press releases, and news clippings. Some biographical and personal material is also included.
Dr. R. Gerald Turner
1995 -
SMU 1996.0274
