Research Guides: HIST 1321: Votes for Women: Primary Resources

History Vault: Womens Studies Manuscript Collection from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics and Reproductive Rights This link opens in a new window
Women's rights movement: voting rights, national politics, & reproductive rights
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (scholar's edition) This link opens in a new window
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. The collection currently includes document projects and archives and full-text documents. Includes Online Biographical Dictionary of the Woman Suffrage Movement in the United States (OBD)

Women’s Vote Centennial Initiative (WVCI)
The mission of the 2020 Women’s Vote Centennial Initiative (WVCI) is to serve as a central organizing and information-sharing entity for programs, projects, and activities that commemorate the 100th anniversary of the 19th Amendment, educate the public on the legal and social advances resulting from the amendment, and stimulate dialogue to address the ongoing fight for women’s rights.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window American periodicals published from 1684-1912 on a range of topics
American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
American serials from 1741-1900
Early American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspapers published from 1690-1922
African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new window
1816-1922
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new window
Complete texts of African American newspapers from the 1800s
Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980) This link opens in a new window
Spanish-language Hispanic American newspapers

The 19th
The 19th is a nonprofit, nonpartisan newsroom reporting at the intersection of gender, politics and policy.

A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation brings together online the records and acts of Congress from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention through the 43rd Congress, including the first three volumes of the Congressional Record, 1873-75.
The Constitution of the United States of America
via Cornell Law school site

Women and the Law (Hein) This link opens in a new window
Women's roles in society & the law