Research Guides: HIST 1321: Votes for Women: Digital Collections &amp; Exhibits

Women's Voices, Women's Votes

“Women’s Voices, Women’s Votes: An Exhibition Marking the 100th Anniversary of the Passage of the 19th Amendment”

This exhibit features over 100 objects from the collections of Dr. Jeanne Stevenson-Moessner, Helen LaKelly Hunt, and the DeGolyer Library. The exhibit includes materials such as rare books, pamphlets, broadsides, photographs, sheet music, manuscripts, and ephemera.

To view additional suffrage related materials in DeGolyer Library's holdings, please contact Samantha Dodd.

DeGolyer Exhibit
Women’s Voices, Women’s Votes
Find more regional exhibits as well as other resources on this guide

Votes for Women: A Portrait of Persistence
“Votes for Women: A Portrait of Persistence” is part of the Smithsonian American Women’s History Initiative, “Because of Her Story.” The initiative is one of the country’s most ambitious undertakings to research, collect, document display and share the compelling story of women.

Ann Lewis Women's Suffrage Collection
The Ann Lewis Women's Suffrage Collection is a privately owned collection amassed over twenty years. It is comprised of more than 1,200 books, objects, correspondence, periodicals, lobbying materials, postcards, and more.
Massachusetts Debates a Woman’s Right to Vote
Founded in 1791, the Massachusetts Historical Society is an invaluable resource for American history, life, and culture. Its extraordinary collections tell the story of America through millions of rare and unique documents, artifacts, and irreplaceable national treasures.

Women of Protest: Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party, Library of Congress
Women of Protest: Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party contains photographs documenting the activities of this militant organization in the woman’s suffrage movement. Included are a time line, images of parades and other protest activities and images of women imprisoned for their activities in support of the suffrage movement.
National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection
The National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA) Collection is a library of nearly 800 books and pamphlets documenting the suffrage campaign that were collected between 1890 and 1938 by members of NAWSA and donated to the Rare Books Division of the Library of Congress on November 1, 1938.
Votes for Women The Struggle for Women's Suffrage
These images were selected to meet requests regularly received by the Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division. They include portraits of women who campaigned for women's rights, particularly voting rights, and suffrage campaign scenes, cartoons, and ephemera. An accompanying women's suffrage timeline features many of the images.
Women's Suffrage in Sheet Music
The sheet music selections included in this digital collection not only present lenses through which to consider conflicting perspectives at play throughout the suffrage movement, but also demonstrate the variety of ways researchers can draw upon historic sheet music to study a particular era, movement, or event.

National Women's History Museum
The National Women's History Museum, is a proposed museum and an American history organization that "researches, collects and exhibits the contributions of women to the social, cultural, economic and political life of our nation in a context of world history."
Women's History, National Park Service
The Women’s History website is produced in concert with NPS partners including the National Conference of State Historic Preservation Officers.

Votes and Petticoats: The Fashion of Suffrage, Johns Hopkins University
This selection of postcards highlights women’s fashion during the early years of the 20th century, and explores how clothing and attire were used by both sides of the conflict to promote their cause.

[Profile Box]

Christina Wood

Contact:

cwjensen@smu.edu
214-768-3609

Pro-Tip-Schedule a Research Consultation

Still having trouble finding the resources you need? Befriend an archivist. Schedule a one-on-one research consultation with an archivist and get the help you need.

DeGolyer Library Staff