Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Transcripts and Videos of Speeches
In Library Search, perform an advanced search with "Speeches, addresses" or "Oratory" as a subject. You can combine that with the name of the desired speaker.
Wikipedia list of speeches
This list links to many famous speeches. Click the speech to discover links to transcripts available online.
Voices of Democracy
Find transcripts of U.S. speeches by theme, historical period, speaker, or author as well as the Voices of Democracy scholarly journal.
Includes a speech database with video and transcripts for most entries.
Browse by category. Some speeches are only audio files.
Vital Speeches of the Day
Find speeches on a variety of political topics from 1934 to today.
TV and Radio
American Archive of Public Broadcasting
Discover historic programs of publicly funded radio and television across America.
AP Archive is one of the most comprehensive news film collections in the world. Some early footage has only ever been available on 16mm film but is now being digitized. All footage was created by the AP.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
In advanced search, filter by "Newsreels and primary sources."
View complete episodes of a large selection of films from the acclaimed PBS public affairs series.
News & Public Affairs Audio
Alternative independent radio news programming. In addition to radio news shows, this collection features the Presidential Recordings collection of historical speeches and secret recordings.
News & Public Affairs Archive
An analysis of news and public affairs independent from traditional corporate media. These collections offer an alternative way to view and interpret current news and public affairs. Includes Democracy Now archive, TV news coverage following the 911 attacks, Mosaic’s Middle East News, UCSF's Tobacco Industry Videos and more.
TV News Archive
Contains news programs collected since 2009 from U.S. news networks. The archive is updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they air. Search closed captions or browse special collections to view clips or find programs to borrow on DVD.
In the pre-TV era, people saw the news every week in their neighborhood movie theaters. Universal Newsreel, produced from 1929 to 1967, was released twice a week. These newsreels offer a view of an era when motion pictures defined our culture and were a primary source of visual news reporting.
Westinghouse Broadcasting, Digital Collection
National news feeds, programs and interviews on worldwide events delivered over the radio from 1957-1982
In addition to the resource below, you can find ads from the older magazines in the library. Think about what type of magazine would carry the ads you need and when it would have carried them.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
LIFE Magazine Archive
An online archive of all LIFE magazines from 1936-1972.
Duke Digital Collections, Advertising
Items relating to the early history of advertising in the United States from the David M. Rubenstein Library at Duke University. Provides a significant and informative perspective on the early evolution of this feature of modern American business and culture.
A digital collection of European advertising from the mid- 19th century to present.