LAW 7222: Comparative Law II: Criminal Procedure: Case Information
This guide was specifically created for Professor Turner's Comparative Law II: Criminal Procedure course and was not intended for general use outside of this course.
Federal & State Cases. Select Criminal Law from Area of Law by Topic. Federal cases may be searched by jurisdiction (district, appellate or U.S. Supreme Court) or by selected topics.
To track subsequent decisions relevant to your topic, click on Save as Alert while viewing your results. Your search will run automatically daily, weekly, or monthly and will send results to your E-mail address.
Cite-Checking on Lexis. To monitor a case or cases while you are writing your paper, set up an Alert in Shepard's by clicking on Save As Shepard's Alert™ while viewing your Shepard's results. It works the same way as the search Alerts referenced above.
Foreign Law
Check Lexis’s Searchable Directory of Online Sources. Coverage for foreign countries is inconsistent.
Organized by country, provides detailed overview of the countrys legal structure, followed by a bibliography of sources of the laws in English by type of source and area of law. Print sources, subscription databases, and Internet sites are included.
Provides a single search facility for databases located on the following Legal Information Institutes: Australasian-AustLII; British & Irish-BAILII; Canadian-CanLII; Hong Kong-HKLII; U.S.-LII (Cornell); and Pacific Island-PacLII. This site is a good first stop in a search for law online. The "Catalog" page is arranged by country.
Westlaw
U.S. Law
Federal & State Cases. Click on Directory tab and select Topical Practice Areas > Criminal Justice. Both state and federal cases may be searched by jurisdiction.
Cite-checking on Westlaw. To monitor a case or cases while you are writing your paper, click on Monitor With KeyCite Alert while in your KeyCite results.
Briefs. Select Briefs from the Criminal Justice sources for documents in selected federal and state cases.
Court Documents. From Directory page click on Litigation for links to selected pleadings, motions, and other documents from state and federal cases.
Foreign Law
Check Database Directory. Coverage for foreign countries is inconsistent.
