Skip to main content
Search Library Resources
English Research by Period
Search All Guides
English Research by Period: Pre-18th Century
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS
Any research related to religion should merit a search of ATLA.
Cambridge Companions Complete Collection
Complete texts of books such as the Cambridge Companions to Medieval English Literature 1100-1500, Early Modern Women's Writing, and Renaissance Humanism.
Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus
* Defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (C.E. 600-1150) of the English language.
* Consists of at least one copy of every surviving Old English text.
Early English Books Online
Reproduces works listed in: Pollard & Redgrave's Short-title catalogue, Wing's Short title catalogue and Thomason tracts.
International Medieval Bibliography
Multidisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages, 300-1500.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
A bibliography of articles and reviews drawn from over 400 medieval and renaissance journal titles.
Full-text journals include: Renaissance Quarterly, Shakespeare Quarterly
MLA International Bibliography
The Modern Language Association's citation database. Some full-text is available.
Full-text journals include: Arthuriana, The Chaucer Review
Web of Science
Use the Cited Reference Search to track citations and locate articles that have cited an author's work.
Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Fondren Library Reference, D114 .D5 1982
This 13 volume, encyclopedic treatment of the Middle Ages is a fantastic place to start or substantiate your research.
Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature
Fondren Library Reference, PN669 .E53 2000
Signed entries and supplemental bibliographies augment the essays in this two-volume work.
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
Fondren Library Reference, CB361 .E52 1999
A six volume set with extensive essays on a variety of topics.
1. Abrabanel - Civility
2. Class - Furió Ceriol
3. Galen - Lyon
4. Machiavelli - Petrarchism
5. Peucer - Sforza
6. Shakespeare - Zwingli
International Directory of Medievalists
Middle English Compendium
Oxford Text Archive
The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies
VoS - Anglo-Saxon & Medieval
VoS - Renaissance & 17th Century
British Literature, Writ Large
Bibliography of British and Irish History
Early English Text Society (Series).
Early English Text Society.
Call Number: 820.8 E12
Publication Date: 1864
Reprints of hundreds of early English texts. Includes the "original series," the "extra series," and the "second series"
Dec 17, 2019 2:40 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.