Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Julia's Recommendations for Getting Started
Independent Voices (JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
A digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Historical and current perspectives on gender and sexuality.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals. Browse by subject to see titles on feminism and women's studies or gender studies.
Inspired by Sylvia Plath's tenacity and curiosity, collection of books about gender and feminism strives to reveal the expansive lives and contributions of cisgender women, transgender women, and girls. Also includes topic filters for gender equity, gender identity, human rights, LGBTQ and LGBTQ+.
For the following databases with broad coverage, add the keywords "women or female or woman or females" to find articles relating to women's studies, or "lgbtq or lesbian or gay or homosexual or bisexual or transgender or homosexual or queer or sexual minority" to find resources on gender studies.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of sociology.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that offers coverage of many areas of academic study.
Sexuality & Culture
Offers an international forum for analysis of ethical, cultural, psychological, social, and political issues related to sexual relationships and sexual behavior.
Publishes articles, reviews and scholarly commentary on the shifting nature of human sexualities.
Sexuality Research & Social Policy
Publishes original research on sexuality, theoretical and methodological discussions, and the implications of this evidence for policies across the globe regarding sexual health, sexuality education, and sexual rights in diverse communities.
Gender & Society
Articles analyze gender and gendered processes in interactions, organizations, societies, and global and transnational spaces.
Theology & Sexuality
Publishes theological studies of sexuality and gender issues.
Gendered Perspectives on International Development
Focuses on the effects of international development policy and globalization on gender roles, gender relations, and sexuality.
Nineteenth Century Gender Studies
Publishes insightful and innovative scholarship on gender studies and nineteenth-century British literature, art, and culture.
SMU Campus Resources
Women & LGBT Center
Empowers students to increase awareness and understanding of gender equity issues, and giving voice for women and the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgendered community.