Evidence Syntheses and Systematic Reviews: Search

Designing Your Search Strategy

A well thought-out search strategy is essential. It should be specific, unbiased, and reproducible. Searches will typically include subject headings, with a  wide range of keywords/phrases for each of your concepts. Design your search to capture as many studies as possible that meet your criteria but maintain a balance between comprehensiveness and relevance.

It is best to work with a librarian in developing your search strategy.

General Steps:

1. Locate previous/ relevant searches
2. Identify your databases
3. Develop your search terms and design search
4. Evaluate and modify your search
5. Document your search (PRISMA-S Checklist)
6. Translate your search for other databases

Pre-Search Tips

Conduct a preliminary set of scoping searches in different databases to test out search terms (keywords and subject headings) and identify additional terms for concepts.

Try to build a "gold set" of relevant references to help you identify search terms. Sources for this gold set may include:

• Recommended key papers
• Papers by known authors in the field
• Results of preliminary searches from key databases such 
• Reviewing references and "cited by" articles lists for key papers
• Articles that have been published in authoritative journals 

Issues to Consider When Searching

• Include all major concepts in the strategy; typically, do not search on the outcomes.
• Use appropriate subject terms for your topic as they can differ across databases
• Use natural language or keywords in addition to appropriate subject terms.
• Use appropriate synonyms, related terms, acronyms, and spelling variations, etc.
• Use Boolean operators, truncation, and wildcards as appropriate.
• Use appropriate limiters and filters.
• Check subject terms of "gold set" of articles, or the main articles that are fundamental to your research.
• Include grey literature sources.

Document all your search strategies and results as you go along.

Translate Search Strategies

Not all databases use the same search syntax, so when searching multiple databases, adapt your search strategy as needed. Use a minimum of three databases.

Managing Your Citations

It is advisable to use a citation management tool to help store and organize your citations during the review process, especially as you will be working with a lot of citations. These tools can be set up to alert you when new articles on your topic are published, and they are a great help when de-duplicating your citation results. 

Most databases work seamlessly with citation management tools like Refworks or Zotero.