Research Guides: Methodist Genealogy Research: Genealogical Search Databases

Recommended Resources

Online genealogical databases can also be a source of valuable information because they contain general family history. There are free and subscription sites that can assist you with your search. The sites listed below are not an exhaustive list but will help to get you started.

USGenWeb Project

A site maintained by volunteers where you can search genealogical information for free. Each state has a link and the information shared may vary depending on the state you access.

Using the USGenWeb Project site you can find:

Links to other resources,
Federal census records,
Information from other organizations such as the Texas Sunday School Association and,
Information regarding Landmarks and Vanishing communities.

Family Search

While not specifically tailored to Methodist genealogy this is another free search site.

Family Search provides:

General family genealogical information
Links to FamilySearch History Centers, and
The location of affiliated libraries where you can get in-person assistance with your genealogical search.

Ancestry.com
Provides DNA testing with a subscription to assist in building a family tree.
MyHeritage.com
Also provides DNA testing site with a subscription to help build a family tree.
Archives
Access genealogical records by subscription without DNA testing.
Genealogybank
A similar subscription site for accessing genealogical records without DNA testing.

Archival Research

The National Archives
While the National Archives do not provide allow individuals to search for information regarding a specific individual, they do have a website that provides additional resources which are available to assist in your search and could be helpful.