Skip to Main Content

HIST 1321: Nativism and Racial Ideology: Chicago

Introductory Topics/Amer Hist 002H 1207: Who belongs? Nativism and Racial Ideology in the Emergence of Modern America

Chicago Notes-Bibliography Citation, 17th edition

Chicago Notes-Bib citation requires two parts: either footnotes (bottom of the page) or endnotes (at the end of the main text), to indicate the source of specific ideas being cited in-text; and a full bibliography at the end.

Note that Chicago also has another citation version, called Author-Date. Chicago Notes-Bibliography tends to be used in the humanities, while Chicago Author-Date tends to be used for the social sciences, particularly political science. Be sure to check with your professor which one you should use.

Jump to: Bibliography | Notes 

Bibliography Entries

General Formatting Rules

  • Alphabetize entries and use a hanging indent.
  • Most entries follow the format: Author. Title. Publication information, date.

Books

Last name, First name. Title. Place: Publisher, date.

Arendt, Hannah. Eichmann in Jerusalem: A Report on the Banality of Evil. New York: Viking Press, 1963.

Book Chapters

Last name, First name. "Title of Article." In Title of Book, edited by Editors, page range. Place: Publisher, date.

Hempton, David. "The People Called Methodists: Transitions in Britain and North America." In Oxford Handbook of Methodist Studies, edited by James E. Kirby and William J. Abraham, 67-84. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2009. 

Journal Articles

Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume (date):page range. 

Baumler, Ellen, Laura K. Ferguson, Jodie Foley, Annie Hanshew, Anya Jabour, Martha Kohl, and Marcella Sherfy Walter. “Women's History Matters: The Montana Historical Society's Suffrage Centennial Project.” Montana: The Magazine of Western History 64, no. 2 (2014): 3-20, 91-92.

Newspaper or Magazine Articles

Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper or Magazine, date. URL or page numbers. 

Petrusich, Amanda. "Hayley Williams: Without a Guidebook." New Yorker (Online), February 12, 2023. https://www.newyorker.com/culture/the-new-yorker-interview/hayley-williams-without-a-guidebook

Websites

Last name, First name (or Organization). "Title of Page." Last modified date [if not available, use Accessed date]. url.

Southern Methodist University Libraries. "Places to Study." Accessed March 16, 2022. https://ww.smu.edu/libraries/spaces/places-study.

World Health Organization. "The Top 10 Causes of Death." Last modified December 9, 2020. https://www.who.int/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/the-top-10-causes-of-death.

Data & Datasets

Code Compliance Services Department, Consumer Health Division. "Restaurant and Food Establishment Inspections (Oct. 2016 to Present)," Open Data, City of Dallas. Last updated April 15, 2023. https://www.dallasopendata.com/Services/Restaurant-and-Food-Establishment-Inspections-Octo/dri5-wcct

Unpublished Manuscripts

A True and Sincere Declaration of the Purpose and Ends of the Plantation Begun in Virginia, of the Degrees Which It Hath Received, and Means by Which It Hath Been Advanced. London, 1610.

ChatGPT

Before using any generative AI tool, such as ChatGPT, for class assignments, review your syllabus and check with your professor for guidance. 

For guidelines on citing generative AI in Chicago Notes-Bibliography, see the official Chicago style website.

Notes

Use the full Note the first time you use a work. If you use that source again later in the paper, use the shortened note form as noted below. 

General Formatting Rules

  • Footnotes and endnotes appear in the order in which the citations occur in the text.
  • The formatting for endnotes (end of body of paper) and footnotes (at the bottom of each page) is the same.
  • Notes are coordinated with superscript numbers that appear in the body of the text.
  • Shortened notes are used for subsequent references to the same source after a full note has been completed. For shortened notes, you may shorten the title and/or author elements however it makes sense, but be sure that your reader can still differentiate between sources.

Books

1. Hannah Arendt, Eichmann in Jerusalem: A Report on the Banality of Evil (New York: Viking Press, 1963), 24.

Shortened: 2. Arendt, Eichmann in Jerusalem, 26.

Book Chapters

3. David Hempton, "The People Called Methodists: Transitions in Britain and North America," in Oxford Handbook of Methodist Studies, ed. James E. Kirby and William J. Abraham (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2009), 72.

Shortened: 4. Hempton, "People Called Methodists," 75. 

ChatGPT

Before using any generative AI tool, such as ChatGPT, for class assignments, review your syllabus and check with your professor for guidance. 

For guidelines on citing generative AI in Chicago Notes-Bibliography, see the official Chicago style website.

Journal Articles

5. Baumler, Ellen et al., “Women's History Matters: The Montana Historical Society's Suffrage Centennial Project,” Montana: The Magazine of Western History 64, no. 2 (2014): 5.

Shortened: 6. Baumler et al., "Women's History Matters," 6.

Websites

7. Southern Methodist University Libraries, "Places to Study", accessed March 16, 2022, https://www.smu.edu/libraries/spaces/places-study.

Shortened: 8. SMU Libraries, "Places to Study."

Data and Datasets

9. Code Compliance Services Department, Consumer Health Division, "Restaurant and Food Establishment Inspections (October 2016 to Present)," last updated April 15, 2023, https://www.dallasopendata.com/Services/Restaurant-and-Food-Establishment-Inspections-Octo/dri5-wcct

Shortened: 10. Code Compliance Services, "Restaurant and Food Establishment Inspections."

Unpublished Manuscripts

11. A True and Sincere Declaration of the Purpose and Ends of the Plantation Begun in Virginia, of the Degrees Which It Hath Received, and Means by Which It Hath Been Advanced (London, 1610), 52.

Shortened: 12: True and Sincere Declaration, 52. 

ChatGPT

Before using any generative AI tool, such as ChatGPT, for class assignments, review your syllabus and check with your professor for guidance. 

For guidelines on citing generative AI in Chicago Notes-Bibliography, see the official Chicago style website.

Using Sources Quoted in Other Sources

It is always better to cite the original source, but if you can't get it, cite the original source and the secondary source you used in the notes and the secondary source only in the bibliography.

1. Theodore Sedgwick, Thoughts on the Proposed Annexation of Texas to the United States (New York: D. Fanshaw, 1844), 31, quoted in Lyon Rathbun, "The Debate over Annexing Texas and the Emergence of Manifest Destiny," Rhetoric & Public Affairs 4, no. 3 (Fall 2001): 479.

Rathbun, Lyon. "The Debate over Annexing Texas and the Emergence of Manifest Destiny." Rhetoric & Public Affairs 4, no. 3 (Fall 2001): 459-493.

What's Ibid.?

Ibid. is the abbreviation for Ibidem (meaning "in the same place" in Latin), and was used in previous versions of Chicago Style to denote that two or more consecutive citations were from the same source.  The Chicago Manual now recommends using shortened citations rather than Ibid.

Turabian Style

Turabian Style is the student version of Chicago Style, for papers not intended for publication.

Resources for Chicago Style

More Ways to Learn Chicago NB

Research Librarian

Profile Photo
Pam Pagels