Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Get psychological insight into a character, an author, or a cultural phenomenon.
Offers info pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
If you are researching children's or young adult literature, you should add ERIC to your research toolkit.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources.
Literary Reference Center
Literary database providing reference info, from antiquity-
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Covers 1890-1982.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Offers coverage of sociology, including ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, religion, social development, social psychology, social structure, sociological history, sociological research, addictions, violence and many more.
Search thousands of reference books, such as subject encyclopedias. Learn the fundamentals of your topic.
Gives background information and provides citations for the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects, combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia. Includes: African American Studies, African Studies, American Literature, Atlantic History, British and Irish Literature, Classics, Jewish Studies, Latin American Studies, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Renaissance and Reformation, and Victorian Literature.
Literary Research Guide
James L. Harner's Literary Research Guide, which Choice calls "the standard guide in the field," evaluates important reference materials in English studies.
The link will take you to the online, 6th edition.
Routledge Dictionary of Literary Terms
Covering both long-established terminology as well as the specialist vocabulary of modern theoretical schools, The Routledge Dictionary of Literary Terms is an indispensable guide to the principal terms and concepts encountered in debates over literary studies in the twenty-first century.