Skip to main content

ANTH 5344: Methods in Ethnology: SMU Special Collections

Special Collections at SMU

 

Bywaters Special Collections, Hamon Arts Library

To make an appointment, email bywatersspecialcollections@smu.edu. BSC primarily holds archival materials and works of art on paper relating to the cultural history of the Southwest. 

Collections-https://www.smu.edu/libraries/hamon/bywaters/about/Collections

Octavio Medellin:

Finding Aid-https://legacy.lib.utexas.edu/taro/smu/00272/smu-00272.html

Online Exhibition- https://artsandculture.google.com/exhibit/EgLixoqv4dlBIQ

 

G. William Jones Film & Video Collection, Hamon Arts Library

One of the largest film archives in the state of Texas, the Collection's holdings include a wide variety of media formats, equipment, and print materials stored in a state-of-the-art, climate controlled film vault. 

Appointment and tour of the collection:  filmarchive@mail.smu.edu. 

Online information:  https://www.smu.edu/libraries/hamon/jones

additional information:  https://www.hamonlibraryblog.org/?s=jones

 

Bridwell Library Special Collections

To make an appointment for Rare Books and Manuscripts, email arvid@mail.smu.edu

To make an appointment for the Archives, email tbinkley@mail.smu.edu

Bridwell Library Home Page: https://www.smu.edu/Bridwell

Special Collections Home Page: https://www.smu.edu/Bridwell/SpecialCollectionsandArchives

Collections Overview Page: https://www.smu.edu/Bridwell/SpecialCollectionsandArchives/Overview

Exhibitions Home Page: https://www.smu.edu/Bridwell/SpecialCollectionsandArchives/Exhibitions

Archives Home Page: https://www.smu.edu/Bridwell/SpecialCollectionsandArchives/Overview/Archives

Digital Collections Home Page: https://www.smu.edu/libraries/digitalcollections/specialcollections/bridwell

 

DeGolyer Library

Principal repository at SMU for special collections in the humanities, the history of business, and the history of science and technology. Collections include rare books, manuscripts, photographs, and more. To make an appointment, email cwjensen@smu.edu.

Collections overview: https://www.smu.edu/libraries/degolyer/Collections

Digital Collections: https://www.smu.edu/libraries/degolyer/Collections/Digital-Collections

Finding Aids: https://legacy.lib.utexas.edu/taro/browse/browse_smu1.html