Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
African Historical Review
An international publication for high quality articles on a wide variety of historical subjects. Covers 1997-present.
Publishes high quality conceptual and empirical writing relevant to Africa. Significant disciplines include but are not limited to: anthropology, critical race, gender and sexuality studies, geography, history, literary, cultural and media studies, sociology, and politics. Began publishing in 1921.
Publishes analyses of the United States and South Africa from a transnational and/or comparative perspective, seeking to understand each country in relation to the other. Covers 2000-present.
South African Historical Journal
A fully accredited, peer reviewed premier history journal published in South Africa, promoting significant historical scholarship on the country, as well as the southern African region. Began publishing in 1969.
Journal of Southern African Studies
An international publication for work of high academic quality on issues of interest and concern in the region of Southern Africa. Covers 1974-present.
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
Created by Digital Innovation South Africa (DISA) and hosted by JSTOR, this collection makes Southern African material of high sociopolitical interest accessible to scholars and researchers worldwide.
Please note: This database contains primary as well as secondary sources.
World history from 1450-
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals, as well as books and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database
Fulltext scholarly journals covering various topics
Learn about using a free JSTOR service for mining data for research.