Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PHIL 3372: Liberty: Citation & Bibliography

Citations Styles

Some disciplines have required styles but Philosophy does not. For this class your Professor has given you examples in APA style.

Writing an Annotated Bibliography: The Basics

What is an annotated bibliography?

It's an organized list of cited references that includes both a brief summary and an evaluation of each source. The length requires that you use pithy description and succinct analysis.

 

Why an annotated bibliography?

  • As a literature review on a particular topic
  • Demonstrating to the reader if a source should be considered for her/his research
  • To illustrate the quality of your research
  • Providing examples of the types of sources available
  • Giving your research historical perspective or relevance
  • Exploring the parameters of the subject
  • Preparing for future research

What might you address in an annotated bibliography?

  • Audience – Who is the author addressing? Who should be reading this?
  • Authority – What are the writer’s credentials? Why should we believe what he has to say? Is the author really an authority?
  • Bias – Do the authors / publishers have a particular agenda they are trying to promote?
  • Content – Is what’s included appropriate? Is it worth reading?
  • Coverage – Is the topic explored thoroughly? Does the scope of the material match the author’s intentions? Is there a better work on this topic?
  • Currency – Is this up-to-date? Is timeliness important for this particular topic?
  • Organization – Does the arrangement of the content augment the argument?
  • Purpose – What does the author intend to convey? Does the author achieve this?
  • Relevance – Does this contribute significantly to research in this field?
  • Quality – Is this an exemplary demonstration of scholarship?
  • Special Features – Does this work include any attributes that benefit the reader and make it particularly useful? (illustrations, index, footnotes, recommended readings)
  • Writing Style – How does the manner in which the material is presented contribute to the overall purpose?

Additional Advice

Annotated bibliography

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Rafia Mirza