Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The resources on this page will contain multiple disciplines (history, philosophy, political science, sociology,, etc)
All digital resources listed here are by SMU subscription (login required from off-campus).
You will usually be expected to find scholarly articles in academic journals -- specifically, in what are called "refereed" (or "peer reviewed") journals. This means that the articles have been reviewed ("refereed") by experts in the field, and that these experts have judged the articles to be worthy of publication.
In a database such as JSTOR most of the results you get will be peer-reviewed articles. However, you can be certain of whether or not you are finding refereed articles by selecting "Peer Review" from the list of search refinements that is available on the left sidebar of every results page.
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals, as well as books and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
Data for Research
is a free JSTOR service available to anyone interested in mining data for their research project.
Provides full-text online access to all journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Books: Balance basic keyword searches in the library catalog with advanced searches that permit searching by the "subject headings"
Books can be secondary or primary resources.
Search these resources for books
Allows you to search through both nonacademic and academic books.
HathiTrust Digital Library
"A digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives." SMU users can log in for full access to text mining tools and other available from HathiTrust.
After you run a search, under Availability select Available online