Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Offers coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Browse the Thesaurus (top bar in EBSCO screen) for additional keyword options.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences, covering 1900-present.
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. Browse the Thesaurus (top bar in EBSCO screen) for additional keyword options.
Dissertations & Theses
Examine recent PhD dissertations for cutting-edge research ideas and extensive bibliographies.
Designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers.
Provides access to education literature and resources.
Web of Science
Do a cited article search by clicking the "Times Cited" link.
Do a cited article search by clicking the "Cited By" link.
Statistics and Demographics
Encyclopedia of Social Theory by
Call Number: HM425 .E46 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Contains more than 500 entries varying from concise definitions of key terms and short biographies of key theorists to comprehensive surveys of leading concepts, debates, themes and schools.
Encyclopedia of Criminology by
Call Number: HV6017 .E5295
Publication Date: 2005
Offers a comprehensive review of the pivotal concepts, measures, theories, and practices that comprise criminology and criminal justice.
Finding Peer-Reviewed Research in Sociology
- Start with a broad keyword search in the databases at left and use the limiters (usually along the left side) to narrow and focus your results.
- Read the abstracts of several articles and save those that might be of interest.
- Use those first few to glean additional keywords and subject terms to re-run your search.
- Collect more than you are planning to use and evaluate and examine their references.
- Discard the less useful articles and repeat this process.
- To expand your research, do a citation search for articles that cite your articles.
To cross-search the databases below (search more than one at a time), select "Choose databases" on the EBSCO screen next to the database name and select additional databases from the list. This will dramatically enlarge your search results.