Research Guides: Researching Dancers and Choreographers: Overview

Databases and Websites

American Ballet Theatre Library
Has two parts: A Ballet Dictionary, which offers definitions of and videos for 170 terms, and a Repertory Archive, which provides information about all pieces ever performed by ABT.
NPR
Their Dance section provides podcasts and articles, including interviews with choreographers.
Playbill
Provides information about current Broadway, off-Broadway, and London shows, as well as financial information about current productions.

America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Any topic regarding U.S. or Canadian history

Ballet and Modern Dance by Jack Anderson
Call Number: GV1787 .A467 1992
Publication Date: 1993
An engaging interpretation of dance history--from the Ancient Greeks and European royal courts to the rise of the "American" ballet and the explosion of modern dance.
A Biographical Dictionary of Actors, Actresses, Musicians, Dancers, Managers, and Other Stage Personnel in London, 1660-1800 by Philip H. Highfill; Kalman A. Burnim; Edward A. Langhans
Call Number: PN2597 .H5
Publication Date: 1973
A monumental work that includes information on more than 8,500 individuals.
Biographical Dictionary of Dance by Barbara Cohen-Stratyner
Call Number: GV1785.A1 C58 1982
Publication Date: 1982
Biographical information on more than 2,900 American and European dance professionals over four centuries.
Dancers and Choreographers by Leslie Getz; Lincoln Kirsten (Introduction by)
Call Number: Z7514.D2 G48 1995
Publication Date: 1995
Covers ballet and modern dance as it developed across the US, England, Canada and Australia.
Fifty Contemporary Choreographers by Jo Butterworth (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011
A unique and authoritative guide to the lives and work of prominent living contemporary choreographers.
Film Choreographers and Dance Directors by Larry Billman
Call Number: GV1779 .B55 1997
Publication Date: 1997
A comprehensive reference work to 970 choreographers who worked in nearly 3,500 films.

Contact:

kalleman@smu.edu

Subjects: Art and Art History, Dance, Fashion Media