Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Online Resources
Across Europe by Time Period
C19: Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
For Britain and also some coverage of the rest of Europe, this contains links to full-text articles in magazines and newspapers from 1680 to the 1930s, including full-text for Palmer's Index to the Times of London. Be sure to use search terms and spellings that would have been used during those periods.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Parts I & II) This link opens in a new window
Offers thousands of documents published in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800, including books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera across a variety of subject categories.
British Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to hundreds of British magazines from the 1700s to the 1900s; useful for social and cultural commentary.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Includes the lives of over 50,000 people who have shaped the British past over the last 2400 years, from the Greek explorer Pytheas of the fourth century BC to Princess Diana, and from the founding fathers of America to the nawabs of Bengal.
Pamphlets and Periodicals from the 1848 French Revolution
More than 100 pamphlets and periodicals from 1848 to 1851 held by the Center for Research Studies and posted in partnership with the University of Chicago Library and the ARTFL Project (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language).
Digitized newspapers from Spain; part of the Hispanic Digital Library project, which aims to consult and publicly disseminate through the Internet the Spanish Bibliographic Heritage preserved in the National Library of Spain.
LIBRO: Library of Iberian Resources Online
A joint project of the American Academy of Research Historians of Medieval Spain and the University of Central Arkansas to make available the best scholarship about the peoples and nations of the Iberian peninsula.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica (MGH)
A comprehensive series of carefully edited and published sources for the study of German history from the end of the Roman Empire to 1500; includes primary source material for study of the Middle Ages and extends beyond Germany.