Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Non-Legal Periodical Articles
- Academic OneFile - indexes many thousands of journals and magazines in numerous subject areas, and provides the full-text of many of those publications
- Academic Search Complete - also indexes many thousands of journals and magazines in numerous subject areas, and provides the full-text of many of those publications
Legal periodicals may provide in-depth analysis and, because of their frequency of publication, often focus on topics of recent interest.
- Lexis and Westlaw. Keep in mind that not all law journals are available on Lexis or Westlaw, and the available journals may have coverage of only limited years.
- HeinOnline. HeinOnline contains the full-text (PDF format) of more than 2000 law journals and other legal periodicals, usually back to their initial volume.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals. Indexes articles in more than 500 law journals published throughout the world, excluding the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, and Australia. Coverage begins in 1985 and includes some articles in languages other than English.
Prepublication Scholarly Articles - SSRN
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of scholarly research. The focus is on recent and current research, so most papers in SSRN are prepublication drafts.
In addition to large collections of periodicals in print, the SMU Libraries have access to many thousands of periodicals electronically in Lexis, Westlaw, and hundreds of other databases.To determine whether SMU owns or has access to a particular periodical, consult the SMU libraries’ catalog at http://www.smu.edu/librarysearch.
Periodicals such as newsletters, newspapers, magazines, and journals can be especially useful for obtaining recent information. The periodicals below are available on the library's third floor, and most are also available electronically. Obviously, articles on oil and gas issues are also published in a wide range of law reviews, newspapers, and newsletter sources in addition to the publications below. Note that few of these publications focus only on legal issues.
- Energy Law Journal – on Lexis, Westlaw, and other databases
- Inside Energy – on Lexis, Westlaw, and other databases
- Inside F.E.R.C. – on Lexis and Westlaw
- Journal of Land, Resources and Environmental Law, formerly Journal of Energy, Natural Resources and Environmental Law – on Lexis and Westlaw
- Natural Gas Week – on Lexis, Westlaw, and other databases
- Natural Resources Journal – also on Lexis and Westlaw
- Oil and Gas Journal – also on Lexis, Westlaw, and other databases
- Oil Daily – on Westlaw from 1984 to 2013; current coverage available in SMU's Factiva subscription, which is accessible through the SMU libraries' catalog (www.smu.edu/librarysearch)
- Oil, Gas and Energy Quarterly, formerly Oil and Gas Tax Quarterly
- Petroleum Economist – available in various databases, excluding the past three or four years. Full access to the Petroleum Economist web site (http://www.petroleum-economist.com), which provides display of images and tables, requires a username and password available from Greg Ivy, firstname.lastname@example.org, 214-768-1829.
- Texas Journal of Oil, Gas and Energy Law – available on Lexis, Westlaw, and HeinOnline.
- Trends: ABA Section of Environment, Energy and Resources Newsletter
Google Scholar Search
This free search engine covers scholarly literature, i.e., “peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles”. Search results are ranked by “weighing the full text of each article, the author, the publication in which the article appears, and how often the piece has been cited in other scholarly literature. The most relevant results will always appear on the first page.”