Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archival Collections at Bridwell Library: Home

This Guide outlines Bridwell Library's archival program

Librarian

Profile Photo
Rebecca Howdeshell
Contact:
Bridwell Library
214-768-1165

External Archives

Bridwell Library also houses the records of four independently-managed United Methodist archives (the "external archives" at Bridwell Library):

The Archives of the North Texas Annual Conference

The Archives of the Rio Grande Annual Conference

The Archives of the South Central Jurisdiction

The Archives of the Texas United Methodist Historical Society

The records of these church-related administrative and historical bodies may be accessed at Bridwell Library with assistance from each organization’s archivist.

Overview

Collage of archival records

 

Bridwell Library offers researchers archival holdings documenting the history of the United Methodist Church and predecessor bodies, Perkins School of Theology, and Bridwell Library.  

 

The Methodist Studies Archive

The Methodist Studies Archive focuses primarily on the history of North American Methodism and its world outreach and includes the papers of bishops, ministers, missionaries, educators, and musicians; the records of church-related institutions, organizations, and events; and materials documenting other facets of church life.​

 

The Perkins School of Theology Archive

The Perkins School of Theology Archive comprises historical and administrative records, the professional papers of deans and faculty members, institutional and student publications, and records of student organizations. (Note: The administrative records of Perkins School of Theology are restricted from public access for a period of fifty years.)

 

The Bridwell Library Archive

The Bridwell Library Archive includes the professional papers of former directors and staff members, library publications, archival collections associated with the library’s rare books and manuscripts, and other historical and administrative records.

 

All non-restricted archival materials may be accessed in the Decherd H. Turner Reading Room during Special Collections operating hours. Please contact Archivist Timothy Binkley (214-768-1989) to make an appointment.

 

A significant gathering of early British Methodist books and manuscripts is also available at Bridwell Library. Access to these resources should be arranged through Rare Books and Manuscripts Librarian R. Arvid Nelsen (214-768-3440).