Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries house rare, unique, or valuable items in special collections. Materials can include rare books and documents, photographs, maps, and more. Often, libraries will collect items on certain topics, such as railroad history or women's studies. Special collections and archives are excellent places to search for primary source material.
Special Collections at SMU
SMU has several special collections and archives on campus. Many materials are available for viewing in the archive's reading room. Some of SMU's archival documents are digitized (see Digital Collections) and can be used online.
DeGolyer Special Collections
The principal repository at SMU for special collections in the humanities, the history of business, and the history of science and technology. Its rare books, manuscripts, photographs, maps, and other materials are available to all SMU students, faculty, visiting scholars, and other researchers.
Bywaters Special Collections
Part of Hamon Arts Library, Bywaters houses performing arts and visual arts collections. Researchers wishing to visit Bywaters Special Collections are requested to make appointments in advance, explain their projects, and define their specific areas of interest so that the required materials can be assembled and the appropriate curator made available.
Bridwell Library Special Collections and Archives
Focuses on incunabula, Bibles, Reformation and Counter-Reformation, devotional literature, church history, theology, popular devotion and popular piety, Wesleyana and Methodistica, and archival documents. Other resources cover topics including archaeology, literature, philosophy, politics, and the book arts (fine press imprints, artists’ books, livres d’artiste, and miniature books).
Finding Other Archives
TARO (Texas Archival Resources Online)
The site consists of the collection descriptions or "finding aids" that archives, libraries, and museums create to assist users in locating information in their collections. Finding aids describe unique materials only available at the individual repositories.
Includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.