Skip to main content

Tests and Measures: Books with Full-Text Tests

Books with Test Instruments

These books/websites contain full-text test instruments or reviews of tests and are available at SMU.  For specific locations, use the library search. This list is in no specific order.

1.       Allen JP & Columbus M (1985). Assessing alcohol problems: A guide for clinicians and researchers. [NIAAA Treatment Handbook Series 4] Bethesda, MD: NIAA. (75 complete instruments)

2.       Allen JP & Wilson VB (2003). Assessing alcohol problems: A guide for clinicians and researchers. (2nd. ed.) [NIAAA Treatment Handbook Series 4] Bethesda, MD: NIAA. (53 complete instruments)

3.       Allison, DB (1995). Handbook of assessment methods for eating behaviors and weight related problems: Measures, theory, and research. Thousand Oaks, CA.: Sage Publ. (45 complete instruments)

4.       Bearden WO; Netemeyer RG & Mobley MF. (1993). Handbook of marketing scales: Multi item measures for marketing and consumer behavior research. Newbury Park, Calif: Sage Publ. (125 complete instruments)

5.       Bearden WO; Netemeyer RG & Mobley MF. (1999). Handbook of marketing scales: Multi item measures for marketing and consumer behavior research. 2nd ed. Newbury Park, Calif: Sage Publ. (197 complete instruments)

6.       Bonjean CM; Hill RJ & McLemore SD (1967). Sociological measurement: An inventory of scales and indices. San Francisco: Chandler Publ. (25 complete instruments)

7.       Brodsky SL & Smitherman HO (1983). Handbook of scales for research in crime and delinquency. NY: Plenum. (99 complete instruments)

8.       Bruner GC II & Hensel PJ (1992). Marketing scales handbook: A compilation of multi-item measures. Chicago: American Marketing Association. (283 complete instruments).

9.       Cook JD; Hepworth SJ; Wall TD & Warr PB (1981). Experience of work: A compendium and review of 249 measures and their use. New York: Academic Press. (93 complete instruments)

10.   Corcoran K & Fischer J (1987). Measures for clinical practice: A sourcebook. New York: Free Pr. (133 complete instruments)

11.   Corcoran K & Fischer J (2000). Measures for clinical practice: A sourcebook. 3rd Ed. (2vols) (2nd ed). New York: Free Pr. (423 complete instruments)

12.   Dahlberg LL; Toal SB; & Behrens CB (1998). Measuring Violence-Related Attitudes, Beliefs and Behaviors among Youths: A Compendium of Assessment Tools. Atlanta, Ga.: Division of Violence Prevention, National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. (110 complete instruments.) Available on the web as a PDF file: https://www.cdc.gov/violenceprevention/pdf/yv_compendium.pdf

13.   Fields, Dail L. (2002). Taking the measure of work: A guide to validated scales for organizational research and diagnosis. Thousand Oaks, CA.. (137 complete instruments)

14.   Filsinger EE (1983). Marriage and family assessment: A sourcebook for family therapy. Beverly Hills, CA: Sage Publ. (6 complete instruments)

15.   Fischer J; Corcoran K (1994). Measures for clinical practice: A sourcebook. 3rd Ed. (2vols). New York: Free Pr.

16.   Fredman N; Sherman R. (1987). Handbook of measurements for marriage and family therapy. New York: Brunner Mazel Publ. (24 complete instruments)

17.   Hill PC & Hood RW (1999). Measures of religiosity. Birmingham, Ala.: Religious Education Press. (124 complete instruments)

18.   Hunsley J & Mash EJ (2008).  A Guide to assessments that work.  Oxford.  

19.   Janda L. (2001). Psychologist's book of personality tests : 24 revealing tests to identify and overcome your personal barriers to a better life. New York : John Wiley & Sons. (24 full text instruments)

20.   Kane RA & Kane RL (1981). Assessing the elderly: A practical guide to measurement. Lexington, Mass.: Lexington Books. (33 complete instruments)

21.   Larson JS. (1991). Measurement of health: concepts and indicators. New York: Greenwood Pr. (5 complete instruments)

22.   Lopez SJ; Snyder CR. (2003). Positive psychological assessment : a handbook of models and measures. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association. (19 complete instruments)

23.   Mangen DJ & Peterson WA (1982). Research instruments in social gerontology. (3 vols). Minneapolis, MN: University of Minnesota Pr. (298 complete instruments)

24.   Manusov V. (2005). The sourcebook of nonverbal measures : going beyond words. Mahwah, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum. ( 27 complete instruments)

25.   McDowell I & Newell C. (1987). Measuring health: A guide to rating scales and questionnaires. New York: Oxford Univ. Pr. (46 complete instruments)

26.   Miller DC (1983). Handbook of research design and social measurement. 4th ed. Newbury Park, Calif.: Sage Publications. (36 complete instruments)

27.   Miller DC (1991). Handbook of research design and social measurement. 5th ed. Newbury Park, Calif.: Sage Publications. (51 complete instruments)

28.   Naar-King A; Ellis DA; Frey, MA. (2004). Assessing children's well-being : a handbook of measures. Mahwah, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates. (20 complete instruments)

29.   National Commission on Marihuana and Drug Abuse. (1973). Drug Use in America: Problem in Perspective, Appendix 1, Patterns and consequences of Drug Use. Wash., D.C.: NCMDA. (9 complete instruments)

30.   Nehemkis A, Macari MA & Lettieri DJ (1976). Drug Abuse Instrument Handbook: Selected Items for Psychosocial Drug Research. [NIDA Research Issues 12]. Rockville, MD: NIDA. (42 complete instruments)

31.   Osgood, N.J. (1985). Suicide in the Elderly: A Practitioner's Guide to Diagnosis and Mental Health Intervention. Rockville, MD. Aspen. (22 complete instruments)

32.   Phillips, K.A. (2005). The broken mirror: Understanding and treating body dysmorphic disorder. New York. Oxford University Press. (13 complete instruments)

33.   Ponton MO and Leon-Carrion J (2001). Neuropsychology and the Hispanic Patient: A clinical handbook. Mahwah, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum Assoc.  (9 complete instruments)

34.   Powell, T.J. (2000). The Mental Health Handbook (A Winslow Practical Photocopy Resource). Speechmark Publishing Ltd. Bicester. (43 complete instruments)

35.   Price JL and Mueller CW (1986). Handbook of organizational measurement. Marshfield,Mass.: Pitman. (26 complete instruments)

36.   Robinson JP, Shaver PR & Wrightsman LS (1991). Measures of personality and social psychological attitudes. San Diego: Academic Pr. (112 complete instruments)

37.   Rubin RB, Palmgreen P & Sypher HE. (1994). Communication research measures: A sourcebook. New York: Guilford Pr. (68 complete instruments)

38.   Schaefer, C.E.; Gitlin, K.; Sandgrund, A. (1990). Play Diagnosis and Assessment. (Wiley Series on Personality Processes). New York. Wiley & Sons. (15 complete instruments)

39.   Schutte NS & Malouff JM. (1995). Sourcebook of adult assessment. (Applied clinical psychology). NY: Plenum Press. (75 complete instruments)

40.   Shaw ME & Wright JM (1967). Scales for the measurement of attitudes. NY: McGraw Hill. ( 186 complete instruments)

41.   Spreen O & Strauss E (1991). A Compendium of neuropsychological tests: Administration, norms, and commentary. NY: Oxford University Press. (16 complete instruments)

42.   Spreen, O.; Strauss, E. (1998). A Compendium of neuropsychological tests: Administration, norms, and commentary. (2nd ed.). NY. Oxford University Press. (30 complete instruments)

43.   Thompson JK: Heinberg LJ; Altabe M; & Tanleff Dunn S (1999). Exacting beauty : theory, assessment, and treatment of body image disturbance. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association. (36 complete instruments)

44.   Touliatos J; Perlmutter BF & Straus MA (2001). Handbook of family measurement techniques. (3 vols.) Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications. (189 complete instruments)

45.   UCLA Center for HIV Identification, Prevention and Treatment Services. Prevention and Treatment Services database. [Viewed 2/2009]. (156 complete instruments).] Online at: http://chipts.ucla.edu/assessment/

46.  Naglieri, J. and Sam Goldstein, eds. Practitioner's guide to assessing intelligence and achievement (2009), John Wiley & Sons