Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Beverly's Recommendations for Getting Started
Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database for general background research on a wide variety of topics, including the arts and humanities.
Coverage: Includes over 10,000 titles, full text for over 5,300 titles, selected coverage from 1975 forward, updated daily. Selected online full text available. To search full-text articles only, limit search results to: full text.
Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for more than 400 leading international publications pertaining to a variety of art forms. Selected online full text available. To search full-text articles only, limit search results to: full text.
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. The scope extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present. Coverage: 1974 - current.
With approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million images (and growing), scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource.
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. Over 2,000 journals published in world historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 are included. Selected online full text available. To search full-text articles only, limit search results to: full text.
International Bibliography of Art
English and European-language publications covered include at least 500 core journals, with an emphasis on specialist and rare titles not covered by other indexes, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogues.
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
Research Help by Topic
Developed by members of the Curatorial Minds Lab beginning in spring 2021, this guide offers many resources for curatorial studies available through SMU Libraries.
Includes information specifically for applying for arts grants.
Images and Copyright
Where to find images and how to use them correctly while observing copyright laws.
Find background info, photography reviews and criticism, and primary sources.
Related Subject Guides