Cite in Chicago Style NB (18th edition): References: Articles

General Format

References are entered in two places. The Bibliography goes at the end of your paper, and the Notes are the in-text citation in the body of your paper.

The Bibliography has the full citation information

• Single-spaced and with no extra space between entries.
• Alphabetize entries and use a hanging indent.
• See the examples in the boxes below.

Notes are either endnotes (at the end of the body of paper) or footnotes (bottom of each page)

• Use either footnotes or endnotes, not both. The content and format is the same, the only change is where the note goes in your document. 
• Numbered notes are coordinated with superscript numbers in the body of the text.
• The first time you cite a source, use the Full Note as indicated below; subsequent times, use the Shortened Note form.

Journal Articles

Print

Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume, no. # (date): page range. 

If there are one to two authors, list all of them in the bibliography and in the note. 

If there are three to six authors, list all of them in the bibliography; in the note, list only the first, followed by et al. (“and others”).

If there are more than six authors, list the first three in the bibliography, followed by et al. In the note, list only the first, followed by et al. The example below has seven authors.

Full note:

1. Baumler, Ellen et al., “Women's History Matters: The Montana Historical Society's Suffrage Centennial Project,” Montana: The Magazine of Western History 64, no. 2 (2014): 8.

Shortened note:

2. Baumler et al., "Women's History Matters," 11.

Online

Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume, no. # (date): page range. https://doi.org/xxxxxxx.

If no DOI is available, then substitute the name of the database where it was retrieved -- e.g., ProQuest One Literature or Ebsco Academic Search Complete. 

Full note:

3. Charlotte F. Narr and Amy C. Krist, “Host Diet Alters Trematode Replication and Elemental Composition,” Freshwater Science 34, no. 1 (March 2015): 81, https://doi.org/10.1086/679411.

Shortened note:

4. Narr and Krist, “Host Diet,” 88–89.

Magazine or Newspaper Articles

Newspapers and magazines are usually cited by date only, not volume/issue number. They also usually do not include inclusive page numbers in the bibliography, as the content may be separated by extra material, but may include the specific page in the note.

Print

Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper or Magazine. Month Day, Year.

Full note: 

5. Jill Lepore, “The Man Who Broke the Music Business,” New Yorker, April 27, 2015, 59.

Shortened note: 

6. Lepore, "Man Who Broke," 59.

Online

Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper or Magazine, Month Day, Year. URL. 

For articles retrieved from a database, use the name of the database instead of the URL -- e.g., Press Reader or Gale Primary Sources. 

Full note:

7. Amanda Petrusich, "Hayley Williams: Without a Guidebook," New Yorker, February 12, 2023. 

Shortened note: 

8. Petrusich, "Hayley Williams."