Skip to Main Content

SBL Style, Second Edition: References: Articles

General Format

References are entered in two places. The Bibliography goes at the end of your paper, and the Notes are the in-text citation in the body of your paper.

The Bibliography has the full citation information.

  • Single-spaced with an extra space between entries.
  • Alphabetize entries and use a hanging indent.
  • See the examples in the boxes below.

Notes are either endnotes (at the end of the body of the paper) or footnotes (bottom of each page)

  • Formatting is the same for endnotes or footnotes. But use only one or the other, not both.
  • Numbered notes are coordinated by superscript numbers in the body of text.
  • Notes are indented one tab.
  • The first time you cite a source, use the Full note as indicated below; subsequent times, use the Shortened Note form.

Journal Article

Last name, First name. "Title of article." Title of Journal volume # (date): page range.

Collins, John J. "Towards the Morphology of a Genre: Introduction." Semeia 14 (1979): 1-20.

 

Full note:

15. John J. Collins, "Towards the Morphology of a Genre: Introduction," Semeia 14 (1979): 5.

Shortened note:

16. Collins, "Towards the Morphology of a Genre," 7.

Article in Encyclopedia or Dictionary

Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Encyclopedia or Dictionary Volume:pages.

Moster, David. "Enoch (Son of Cain)." Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception 7:945-947.

 

Full note:

17. David Moster, "Enoch (Son of Cain)," EBR 7:945.

Shortened note:

18. Moster, "Enoch," 946.

Book Review

Last name, First name. Review of Title of book reviewed, by author of book reviewed. Journal Title volume (date): pages.

Seibert, Eric A. Review of King Josiah of Judah: The Lost Messiah of Israel, by Marvin A. Sweeney. The Catholic Biblical Quarterly 64, no. 3 (2002): 558-559.

 

Full note:

19. Eric A. Seibert, review of King Josiah of Judah: The Lost Messiah of Israel, by Marvin A. Sweeney, CBQ 64, no. 3 (2002): 558.

Shortened note:

20. Seibert, review of King Josiah of Judah (by Sweeney), 558.

Entry in a Lexicon

In your bibliography you want to cite the lexicon or dictionary that you used.

Last name, First name, ed. Title. # vols. City: Publisher, date.

Diggle, J., B. L. Fraser, P. James, O.B. Simkin, A. A. Thompson, and S. J. Westripp, eds. The Cambridge Greek Lexicon. 2 vols. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2021.

 

For the note citations, you will want to cite the specific entry that you used.

Full note:

21. J. B. Diggle et al., "βλέπω," The Cambridge Greek Lexicon 1:283.

Shortened note:

22. Diggle, The Cambridge Greek Lexicon 1:283.