DeGolyer Library Archival Collections: W-Z

Jack L. Walker (1888-1964) was a railroad telegraph operator, songwriter, and amateur photographer. He and his wife Marie Luther (1894-1962) had one daughter and three sons in Dallas, Texas. Included in this collection are Walker's railroad documents, correspondence, patent documents for his voice recording inventions, song compositions, and family documents. Also included is correspondence of Evelyn and James Callahan, Van Wood, and photographs of the Callahan and Luther families. Part of the George W. Cook Dallas/Texas image collection.

Robert F. Weitbrec was a railroad and mining businessman in Denver, Colorado. This collection contains letters and photographs from Weitbrec to his wife Celia while he was in Mexico constructing the Mexican National Railway in 1883; and gold mining business records for Colorado companies Breece Mining Company, Gilpin County Mining Company, and Williams Mining Company.

Dick West was the director of the Dallas Morning News editorial page for decades, and he also had a popular Sunday radio show. After he retired from the News in 1977, West continued to write for SR Dallas, a news publication for seniors. This collection includes his radio scripts, drafts, correspondence, speeches, photographs, and clippings.

This collection is comprised of 76 scripts from motion picture westerns produced in the United States between 1929 and 1981.

John W. Wetherbee, Treasurer and chief investor for the Excelsior, New England and Invincible Mining Companies of Colorado wrote these letters to George W. Morrill and Henry Gardiner discussing news and management problems of the mines. Includes printed notices, 1867-1869, to the stockholders of the Excelsior Mining Company and the Hoosier Silver Lode.

Virginia Whitehill (1928-2018) was a civic activist and champion of women’s reproductive rights in Dallas, Texas. This collection comprises her collection of clippings, newspapers, magazines, books, printed materials, brochures, journal articles, pamphlets, professional publications, statements, as well as some audio/visual materials on topics related to women's rights issues.

Virginia Whitehill (1928-2018) was a civic activist and champion of women’s reproductive rights in Dallas, Texas. The Virginia Whitehill papers comprise biographical materials, school records, photographs, awards, written materials, clippings, correspondence, artifacts including plaques, buttons, and t-shirts, as well as audiovisual materials. These materials document Virginia's childhood and education in New York, and her efforts as an activist for women's rights in Dallas, Texas.

Virginia Whitehill (1928-2018) was a civic activist and champion of women’s reproductive rights in Dallas, Texas. She founded the Dallas Committee to Study Abortion in 1969, and helped cofound numerous women's rights groups. This collection comprises materials from local, regional, and national organizations and includes: correspondence, newsletters, reports, directories, legislative agendas and notices, guides, ephemera, flyers, meetings files with agendas and minutes, pamphlets, brochures, statistics, programs, papers, and other printed materials.

Advertisements for Wilmans' gubernatorial campaign with slogans and pictures of the candidate. Stationery contains an incomplete, unsigned letter.

This collection contains materials from James K. Wilson Sr. and James K. Wilson Jr. regarding their careers in the menswear retail industry. James K. Wilson Sr. founded Jas. K. Wilson Co. in Dallas in 1946. His son also ran the family business, and later held leadership positions with Hart, Schaffner and Marx, and Greif and Co.

John W. Wilson was a Texas author and executive at Texas Instruments. His most famous work is High John the Conqueror , which was first published in 1948. This collection includes his manuscripts, correspondence, military records, and materials for the English classes he taught at Southern Methodist University after World War II.

Sylvan Rupert Wood was a railroad scholar of the late nineteenth and early twentieth century. His papers include correspondence, American locomotive rosters, locomotive drawings, and railroad ephemera.

The Young Women’s Christian Association was organized to nurture the spiritual, intellectual, social and physical development of young women by providing classes and housing assistance. The YWCA of Dallas, Texas became a member of the YWCA of the United States of America on February 3, 1909. Covering the metropolitan Dallas area, programs include camping, homemaking and job skill courses, a rape crisis center, and a battered women’s shelter. This collection contains institutional records, deeds and titles; scrapbooks with clippings and photographs; photographic albums; slides, negatives and audio visual media; awards, plaques, certificates and acknowledgements of the YWCA accomplishments.

This volume lists goods purchased by individual members of the Brigham Young family, including President Young, his wives, several of his children, and his brother Joseph's wives. Entries are primarily household items but also include supplies for a schoolhouse.

This collection mostly contains letters written by twentieth century military and political figures regarding books in the Joseph Zeppa collection at DeGolyer Library. Photographs and ephemera found in books are also included. Most of the letters are addressed to George Keating, who curated the book collection. Highlights include letters from Herbert Hoover and Harry Truman; a letter and drawing from Joseph Conrad (1925); and a letter from T.E. Lawrence regarding his annotations in his book returned to Keating (1925).