DeGolyer Library Archival Collections: H-I

Ebby Halliday was an American realtor, businesswoman, and founder of Ebby Halliday Realtors, Inc. Known as the “First Lady of Real Estate”, Ebby was also known for her philanthropic vision and civic engagement. Her papers document her business activities, civic contributions, and personal life. Materials comprise: speeches, scrapbooks, correspondence, biographical information, awards and certificates, programs, magazines, newsletters, interviews, advertisements, clippings and articles, photographs, minutes and agendas, calendars/planners, and research files.

Adlene Harrison was an American politician who served on the Dallas City Council, and was the first acting female mayor of Dallas in 1976. She was elected three times to the Dallas City Council between 1973 and 1977. Her career also included working as a regional administrator for the Environmental Protection Agency from 1977-1981. During her time in office Harrison worked on environmental issues as well as public transportation in Dallas. She was a key figure in the development of the Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART) system and served as the first chairman of the board. Her papers comprise both personal and political papers and include: correspondence, printed materials, speeches, scrapbooks, ephemera, photographs and audiovisual materials.

Margaret Lohlker Hartley worked at Southern Methodist University for thirty-five years. She was editor of both the SMU Press and Southwest Review from 1961-1981, and senior editor until her retirement in 1982. In 1973 she was appointed adjunt associate professor of English at SMU. She was also coeditor of the Santa Fean magazine early in her career, and later authored a book of poetry, book reviews, and various articles about cultural conflicts in America. This collection contains personal and professional correspondence, files regarding professional meetings and conferences, and photographs.

Robert T. Hill is known as the father of Texas geology. His career as a geologist and writer is represented in his collection of unpublished manuscripts, correspondence, field notebooks, photographs, and maps.

The Holloway family papers contain correspondence, case files, financial papers, writings, diaries, maps, genealogies, photographs, postcards, and printed material about the life of Edmunds B. Holloway and his descendants. Included are the Civil War letters of Edmunds and his wife, Eliza. Most of the material dates from the period of 1885-1930, when Thomas T. Holloway was a practicing attorney in Illinois and Dallas. These papers tell the story of nineteenth and twentieth century family life, religious life, U.S. Army history, Dallas history, and women’s history.

This collection contains letters from John Francis Holme to C. F. Whitmarsh with three pen and ink drawings by Holme . Also includes a biographical sketch of Holme, a listing of books published by Bandar Log Press, prospectus, photographs of Holme with friends, and miscellaneous printed and promotional items from the press.

Roger Horchow was a businessman and Tony Award winning Broadway producer who lived in Dallas, Texas. His luxury mail order business, Horchow Collection, operated from the early 1970s to 1988. He spent the rest of his life producing and investing in multiple Broadway shows. This collection includes catalogs, photographs, correspondence, business records, and music.

Caroline Rose Hunt was an American heiress and hotelier, businesswoman, writer, noted philanthropist, and at one point, the wealthiest woman in the world. She founded Rosewood Hotels and Resorts, built the Mansion on Turtle Creek in Dallas, and is credited with developing the Uptown neighborhood in Dallas. Her papers include letters, manuscripts, photographs, scrapbooks, clippings, speeches, diaries, awards, and business-related papers from the Rosewood Corporation.

The records of the Intercontinental Rubber Company (IRC) mostly span the years 1903 to 1953 before Texas Instruments acquired the company. IRC was formed as a holding company to acquire and finance the expansion of a producer company, which had developed a process for the manufacture of crude rubber from guayule shrub in Mexico, and as a vehicle for exploration and exploitation of new sources of rubber. Through its operating subsidiaries in Mexico, particularly the Continental Mexican Rubber Company, the company occupied a dominant position in the guayule rubber industry. Materials include legal documents, financial documents, minutes, stock records, correspondence, maps, blueprints, and photographs.