DeGolyer Library Archival Collections: C

Earle Cabell (1906 – 1975) was a dairyman, food merchant, Dallas mayor, and United States Congressman. One of the founders of Cabell's, Inc., a dairy and early convenience store, Cabell served as the company's president from 1952 until it was sold to Southland Corporation in 1959. Cabell served as mayor of Dallas, just as his father and grandfather had done. His term was from 1961 to 1964, during which time he guided the city after the John F. Kennedy assassination. Cabell served four consecutive terms as Texas' Fifth District Congressman in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1964 to 1972. Almost 90 percent of this collection reflects his time as a Democratic Congressman. This compilation includes legislative and constituent correspondence, business papers, speeches, photographs, other assorted printed materials, and legislative, campaign, and mayoral files related to Cabell's career. Only a few family materials, personal papers, and genealogical materials are contained in the archive. The files of Sid Pietzch, Cabell's campaign manager, are also included in this collection.

Robert E. Carpenter and his wife Bessie were an African American couple who lived in the State-Thomas neighborhood of Dallas in the early twentieth century. Their daughter Lanita married Booker T. Washington and they settled on Clark Street. Included in this collection are Robert and Bessie's financial documents, correspondence from Bessie's children, two postcards, one photograph of Bessie, and deeds; Lanita's birth and marriage certificates, correspondence, and financial documents; and Booker's World War II documents. Lanita and another sibling attended Wiley College in Marshall, Texas and Lanita's letters to her mother describe her life as a coed. Part of the George W. Cook Dallas/Texas image collection.

Amon G. Carter Sr. established the Fort Worth Star Telegram, the radio station WBAP, and was a successful oilman. Included in this collection are signed checks, a mineral lease, financial documents, and a 1939 newspaper article. One folder contains tickets and passes for the State Fair of Texas, Texas League of Baseball Clubs (1916-1970), democratic national conventions, a presidential inauguration, American Airlines, circuses, and various agricultural expositions. Some materials belonged to his son, Amon Gary Carter Jr. Part of the George W. Cook Dallas/Texas image collection.

Referred to as the “grandmother of women in Journalism in Dallas” and the “godmother of the women’s movement in Dallas,” Vivian Castleberry was a journalist, author, and civic activist. She was the first woman appointed to the editorial board for the
Dallas Times Herald . Her work transformed women’s news stories from fluff pieces to substantial news stories about women’s issues. Her papers include clippings, research for articles and books, materials relating to prominent women of Dallas, and materials from organizations associated with Castleberry as well as materials from her work as a grassroots civic activist.

The bulk of the collection is comprised of letters written by or to Stephen Chappell and Hannah Greer Christian and their children. Though the material dates from 1841 to 1974, much of it falls within a forty-year period, from 1862 to 1901. Most notably, this part of the collection includes Stephen Chappell Christian’s Civil War letters. In addition to the letters of the Christian family, the collection contains genealogical data, records of land purchases in Texas, legal documents, financial records, employment records, school papers, account books, newspaper clippings, and photographs.

This artificial collection contains Chicago and North Western Railway detail drawings, architectural drawings for various stations and facilities, and some track charts and railroad ephemera.

Sally Burwell Childs was a recognized pioneer educator of children and teachers, a specialist in language training and teaching dyslexic students from New York who taught and trained teachers around the world. She focused on learning disabilities, specifically dyslexia, and published a number of articles, manuals, and books on the subject. Her papers include correspondence, manuscripts, tests, evaluations, curriculum, speeches, and clippings.

Mary Cimarolli is a Texas author known for her biography of Paul Barrus entitled Man of Grace , and her memoir, The Bootlegger’s Other Daughter . Included in this collection are her drafts, poetry, short stories, essays, book reviews, and photographs.

Amy Clampitt worked as a librarian, freelance editor, and writer who achieved critical acclaim beginning in the 1980s. This collection show Clampitt's evolution as a poet and consists of two boxes of periodicals, proof copies, and sound recordings of Clampitt's work.

Sergeant Clarence W. Clark (1914-2006) served three years in the United States Army with the 51st Air Service Group in the China-Burma-India campaign. Most of this collection contains his letters home to his wife Frances in Tyler, Texas. The last few letters from 1945 he wrote from Assam, India after his letters were no longer censored. Frances writes to him about family and friends, and life in Tyler during the war. Part of the George W. Cook Dallas/Texas image collection.

The collection consists mostly of letters both to and from Chauncey D. Clarke, whose business interests included the family-owned Clarke Bros. Whiskey Manufacturing Company, mining, and ranching in Arizona. This correspondence provides a glimpse of the period of rapid development in the territory and state of Arizona.

John Hughes Cochran was a Texas politician, rancher, and early settler of Dallas County. His family papers document early Dallas and Texas history, and include ledgers, correspondence, family histories, and photographs.

Samuel Poyntz Cochran (1855-1936) was a partner in the insurance firm of Trezevant & Cochran in Dallas, Texas. His papers include family correspondence, genealogies, photographs, as well as Trezevant & Cochran ledgers and circulars.

Kay Walker Cole was a women’s activist who was heavily involved in feminist issues and the women's rights movement, with an emphasis on women’s finances. Cole participated in a number of organizations including: The Women's Southwest Federal Credit Union, Women's Issue Network, Our Friend's Place, NARAL, TARAL, NOW, and Dallas Women's Foundation. Her papers comprise a collection of clippings, magazines, photographs, correspondence, and promotional material, materials detailing the 1977 National Women's Conference in Houston as well as material on issues of abortion and the ERA.

Ernest Conine was a journalist from Dallas, Texas and a Southern Methodist University alum. His papers include his articles from various McGraw-Hill magazines from the 1950s-1963, his editorial columns for the Los Angeles Times from 1963-1990, his unpublished memoirs, and a scrapbook.

George Cook's collection of manuscripts and artifacts includes significant documents, family papers, ephemera, and other historical objects that tell the story of Dallas, Texas. Most materials are dated early nineteenth century to the early twenty-first century.

James M. Collins was a Republican congressman from 1968-1983 for Texas’ Third Congressional district. These papers contain his press releases, congressional statements, political photographs, speeches, and audiovisual materials.

Correspondence, contracts, deeds, minutes, ledgers and other financial documents pertaining to the construction and operation of the railroad, including the period (ca. 1907-1909) when the railroad was placed in receivership and reorganized.

John C. Conner represented Texas as a Democrat in the United States Forty-first and Forty-second Congress (1870-1873). John Conner writes to his friend H.D. McDonald in Paris, Texas about the Democratic convention in Dallas and politics. Letters are written on Conner's congressional letterhead. Included are railroad passes, two broadsides of Conner's addresses, two copies of a letter by McDonald to The National Intelligencer, and an advertisement for the The National Intelligencer. Part of the George W. Cook Dallas/Texas image collection.

George Albert Converse (1844-1909) was a naval officer whose papers include correspondence, naval orders, ship specifications, contracts, reports, notebooks, newspaper and periodical clippings, pamphlets, etc. relating chiefly to the development of torpedo boats in the United States and Europe. Most of the papers cover the period 1888-1897 and were written in Newport, Rhode Island, Washington, D.C., and England. Converse is known for his contributions to naval engineering, especially the development of torpedo boats. Also included are photographs of various ships, construction of ships and other related views. There are also views of ruins of a gun cotton factory after an explosion, "Cushing's" experiments with torpedoes, Yarrow &Co. torpedo boats, and steam yachts. Some photographs are by Frank H. Child and some by Child & Co.

Texas author Joe Coomer is known for his witty novels set in Texas and Maine. Coomer has also published two non-fiction works about building his house in Texas and restoring a motorsailer in Maine, one volume of poetry, short stories, book reviews and essays. This collection contains his student work, published and unpublished works, business files, and correspondence.

Noted Dallas teacher and trainer, Aylett Royall Cox developed a teaching method that helped dyslexics learn to read. She began the alphabetic phonics program at Texas Scottish Rite Hospital, and authored numerous texts on her language therapy techniques. She helped establish the Academic Language Therapy Association (ATLA) and the Neuhaus Education Center in Houston. Her papers comprise teaching materials, correspondence, books, articles, journals, awards, and other education related materials used during her career.

John C. Cox, Jr. served in the United States Army in the South Pacific during World War II. The collection includes correspondence, photographs and other materials related to his military service.

This collection contains correspondence, business ephemera, and photographs of the Cozart and Nixon families in Leon County, Texas. Martha Jane “Mattie” Cozart Nixon and her husband Frank Young “F.Y.” Nixon are the main subjects of this collection. However, their relatives’ papers are also included. The Cozart family lived on Leon Prairie (Fort Boggy, Texas) and later moved to Normangee, Texas. These family papers tell the story of early Texas settlers in Leon County.

Letters to Nathaniel Cushing of Pembroke, Massachusetts, describing privateering and the effects of the British naval blockade during the War of 1812. Business and family matters are also discussed.

Letters written by Cushing to John Gregory Bourke and Charles W. Greene, General Manager of the Santa Fe Tertio-Millennial Anniversary Association, pertaining primarily to Cushing's field work with the Zuni Indians of New Mexico. Also includes a biographical sketch and bibliography.