Research Guides: Film 2351 International Film History: Overview

Finding film scholarship: PRIMARY SOURCES

Media History Digital Library
Digitized collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. Locate what was written about a film at the time it was released by searching a film title and/or filmmaker. Narrow the results to the release year.
Sight and Sound
British monthly film review magazine, published by the BFI starting in 1932

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive: Cinema, Film, Television This link opens in a new window
Primary sources from the entertainment industry in the 1900s

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database
Indexes over 330 international periodicals. The database also includes a number of specialized bibliographies (such as silents and Latin American cinema) and information about film archives and collections. In addition to the usual types of searches, one can search for articles on a particular director or film title.

Use the library catalog to locate a DVD of your film from the Hamon collection for the research assignment. Most of the DVDs purchased for the collection include bonus material, such as archival material, interviews with directors, screenwriters, actors, missing scenes, director's cut.

SECONDARY SOURCES

Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary resource for articles on the arts & entertainment industry
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Searching by film title or director/auteur and filter by“peer reviewed” for secondary sources
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
All about television & film

Cahiers du Cinema by Jim Hillier
ISBN: 0674090608
Publication Date: 1985-06-01
Essays from the influential French film magazine discuss movies by Roger Vadim, Francois Truffaut, Nicholas Ray, Otto Preminger, Alfred Hitchcock, Samuel Fuller, and Roberto Rosselini.
Cahiers du Cinema by Jim Hillier (Editor)
ISBN: 0674090624
Publication Date: 1987-01-12
In the turbulent sixties, the provocative French film journal Cahiers du Cinema was at its most influential and controversial. The first successes of the New Wave by major Cahiers contributors such as Jean-Luc Godard, Francois Truffaut, Jacques Rivette, Eric Rohmer, and Claude Chabrol focused international attention on the revitalization of French cinema and its relation to film criticism.

All Film & Media Arts databases

Film 2351 International Film History

Finding film scholarship: PRIMARY SOURCES

SECONDARY SOURCES

Research Librarian