Skip to Main Content

It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 4343: British Literature: Victorian Gender & Sexuality: Overview

Literary Biography

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
British influencers from before the common era to now
Oxford Bibliographies: Victorian Literature This link opens in a new window
Overviews & annotated bibliographies on literary topics from the Victorian period
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
Literary criticism, authors' biographies, reference resources with citations

In ProQuest One Literature, limit by document type, Biography.

Then, look for the Reference Works section.

Reference Resources

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The ultimate English dictionary, includes historical usage & etymologies

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
Fulltext articles on critical and theoretical schools and movements, with historical context.
Routledge Dictionary of Literary Terms
Terms and concepts encountered in 21st century literary studies debates.

Research Librarian

Contact:

regraff@smu.edu

Subjects: English, Medieval Studies, Philosophy, World Languages and Literatures, Writing & Reasoning

Sites to See

Discovering Literature: Romantics & Victorians
Explore the British Library's collections
Victorian Web

Writing Resources

Writing about Literature
This handout describes some steps for planning and writing papers about literary texts. From the Writing Center, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Related Guides

Last Updated: Jul 28, 2022 8:00 AM
URL: https://guides.smu.edu/engl4343
Print Page

Subjects: English

Tags: english