Research Guides: Open Access Theology Resources: Church History

Church History

Christian Classics Ethereal Library
CCEL includes a substantial library of Classic Christian texts made freely available in electronic format
Church History Timeline
Presents a basic timeline of major figures and events in church history
Corpus Corporum
A searchable repository of full-text Latin works, including Patrologia Latina, from the University of Zurich
Corpus Thomisticum
Set of instruments of research on Thomas Aquinas, including a full edition of Aquinas' complete works, a bibliography, and an index
Early Christian Writings
Provides translations of and commentary on Christian texts composed before the Council of Nicaea in 325 AD
Early Church Fathers - Additional Texts
Early writings that were not included in the 38 volume collection of Ante-Nicene, Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers
Fathers of the Church
Translations of the writings of the Church Fathers, from Alexander of Alexandria to Vincent of Lerins
Fourth Century Christianity
Research tools and texts for the study of the Church and its environment in the Fourth Century
History of Missiology
Collection of missionary biographies, reports, sermons and theologies maintained by University of Boston School of Theology
Internet History Sourcebooks
Fordham University provides these collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts from Ancient, Medieval, and Modern history
The Labyrinth: Church History
Resources in medieval studies through Georgetown University
Post-Reformation Digital Library
Digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th centuries)
Project Wittenberg
Works by and about Martin Luther and other Lutherans, including commentaries, hymns, statements of faith, theological treatises, biographies